iPhone 6 screen on 6+

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by SimonAgerbo, Mar 7, 2016.

  1. SimonAgerbo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    Hey MacRumors.
    I've got a question about an iPhone.

    I've got a broken iphone 6+, and i was wondering if I could test the phone, using an normal iphone 6 screen.

    Hope someone can help me here :)

    - Simon
     
  2. ielessar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    WJ
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    I can't see why you cannot try it. Report back on whether it works or not.
     
  4. SimonAgerbo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    I'll try using an iphone 6 screen.
    I was just wondering, if it will fit on, not in size, but if the plug works :)
     
  5. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    I'd compare images, if nothing else, on ifixit. That should give you a pretty good idea. My immediate concern is the lack of 3d touch with the 6.
     
  6. pojo1806 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    The 6+ also lacks 3D touch.
     
  7. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    You're right. In my mind I was thinking the replacement was a 6 screen on a 6s. I obviously misread completely lol.

    Realizing what I do now my concern would be resolution differences. Even if the plugs work I think there would be some display issues.
     
  8. cableguy84 macrumors 6502a

    cableguy84

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Location:
    Essex
    #8
    I very much doubt it, but if the plugs are the same it might work
     
  9. Tthomas612 macrumors 65816

    Tthomas612

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Lexington, Ky
    #9
    Even if the plugs were to work the native resolution will be an issue... The 6 Plus already downsizes to 1080p.

    750p would be a huge difference
     
  10. iThingsGurl macrumors 6502a

    iThingsGurl

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
  11. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #11
    You probably can, however, keep in mind that if you mess up you'll need two screens instead of one.;)
     
  12. SimonAgerbo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Location:
    Denmark
    #12
    Man. Thanks for your answers. You guys think I will break my "test" screen? if i try it?
     
  13. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #13
    I'm not sure anyone here actually knows - I don't imagine it's something very many people have tried.
     

Share This Page