iPhone 6 shows LTE. iPhone 7 shows 3G

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jdsmitty10, Sep 16, 2016.

  1. jdsmitty10 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    #1
    I had my 6 next to my 7 and like the title the 6 shows lte and the 7 shows 3G. LTE is enabled on the 7. Weaker antenna??
     
  2. ScubaCinci macrumors 65816

    ScubaCinci

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH
    #2
    I am noticing the same thing today on my 7 plus. Went out to run some errands and noticed the phone was on 3G and staying there even though I know there's excellent LTE coverage there. I turned cellular off and on but it didn't help. I then did a hard reboot of my phone and it seemed to remedy it.
    Then as I was driving back from the store and the same thing happened. Eventually, (after 10 mins or so) it went to LTE. Again. Stopped at the grocery, stuck the phone in my pocket and when I got back to my car it was on 3G again!!! WTF? All of these areas are LTE and I never had issues on my 6. Starting to think there's a problem with the 7/7 plus.
     
  3. Garen macrumors regular

    Garen

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles Area
    #3
    Which carrier?
     
  4. jdsmitty10 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    #4
    Mines fixed. Apparently my phone wasn't fully activated. Had to log in to Verizon and activate now I'm on LTE.
     
  5. ScubaCinci macrumors 65816

    ScubaCinci

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH
    #5
    Verizon
     
  6. ScubaCinci macrumors 65816

    ScubaCinci

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH
    #6
  7. Steve686 macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #7
    If this pops up for anyone else in the future and it doesn't 'fix itself', make sure your IMEI number is registered correctly with your carrier.

    My ATT 5s phone wasn't registered correctly and would only display 3G.

    Long story short, ATT tried to convince me a software update was needed from Apple, and then tried to convince me that 3G showing actually was OK and I was getting LTE speeds. Both untrue, of course.

    In the end I took the phone in to ATT, IMEI was wrong, and got it corrected. All with over $300 in ATT credits after a lengthy chat online.
     
  8. ScubaCinci macrumors 65816

    ScubaCinci

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH
    #8

Share This Page