iphone 6 (t-mobile) from apple online store....locked after start with t-mobile sim

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Batem, Oct 10, 2014.

  1. Batem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #1
    hi,

    i ordered two i phone 6 from the apple online store in the us.
    my dad is in the us right now and he started his phone for a minute without removing the pre-installed t-mobile sim card. he turned it off right away and he wants to start it finally here in germany with his sim-card.

    is it possible that the phone did a netlock on t-mobile because he started it without removing the sim? or should we be allright?
     
  2. robert109 macrumors member

    robert109

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    #2
    It is said that the phone will not be locked if you took the sim out before activate it.
     
  3. Batem thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #3
    yeah i know that, but what if he activate it with the t-mobile sim inside?
    does it lock itself?
     
  4. Johnboy7701 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    #4
    I'm in germany as well and my phones are on the way. Hope your dads isn't locked. I'm going to make sure I take my SIM cards out right away.
     
  5. robert109 macrumors member

    robert109

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    #5
    I'm not sure...
     
  6. JCCL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #6
    If it was bought full price apple store it will never relock, no matter it is AT&T, Verizon or T-Mobile. Just put the other SIM card and it will work:)
     
  7. Batem thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #7
    i know that it will be unlocked if he took out the t-mobile sim and put in his german vodafone sim.....i dont know what happens if he activates the phone first time with the t-mobile sim....
     
  8. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #8
    The phone is unlocked period. No SIM card will lock a phone that's factory unlocked.
     
  9. Batem thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #9
    even if you activate it with the pre-installed t-mobile sim. i read something like that in this forum?
     
  10. max5peru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Location:
    Peru
    #10
    So, what's the deal here?
    Has your dad tried to activate the iphone with his non t-mobile sim?
     
  11. Batem thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #11
    no he did not....he started the phone with the t-mobile sim, then he turned it off....
    then he called me (i am in germany) if this will be a problem, because he wants to acitvate his phone (with his german sim) when he is back in germany.

    i am trying to find out if he should try it while he is in the us or if he wont have a problem......so i could tell him that he should not care about pushing the powerbutton....
     
  12. Kevin118 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    Walnut, CA
    #12
    why you don't try to use another sim on your phone to see?;)
     
  13. BingoBlue macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Location:
    Philly
    #13
    Nope. No need to worry.

    My wife and I had our TMo contract free iPhone 6 delivered to our US hotel on release day. Turned them on and took them around Orlando for just over a week with the TMo SIM card - just using wifi as we went.

    Back home in the UK with the TMo sim removed and our Three sim installed. All working perfectly fine without issue including LTE.
     
  14. Batem thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #14
    thank you very much, that helps

    ----------

    i cant, because i am in germany and i dont have the phone yet.
    he is in the states and asks me what to do....
     
  15. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #15
    He can try purchasing a GoPhone SIM from an AT&T store or Wal-Mart.
     
  16. Batem thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #16
    Update for those who are interested:

    My dad arrived in Germany this morning. I Phone works perfectly with his german sim-card :D

    and he got both i-phones through customs....so we made a pretty good deal ;)
     
  17. sqykkhickinb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    #17
    I'm in germany as well and my phones are on the way.[​IMG]
     

Share This Page