iPhone 6s+ battery life on replacement phone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by npolly0212, Dec 3, 2015.

  1. npolly0212 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #1
    hello, on my first 6s+ I was getting a good 1.5-2.5 days of use out of the battery on it. Well I had to get a replacement about 3 weeks ago and the battery life is just outright horrible.
    Right now I have 3 hours of usage and 3 hours of standby and already at 45% of battery.

    Anybody else having battery issues? Anything I should do for it?
     
  2. valdigre macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #2
    Check battery usage in settings to see what is eating up your battery. Focus on apps eating it in the background but whatever it might be, sounds like some rogue app or faulty phone.

    If this does not settle, reset your phone and install all your apps from scratch instead of backup.
     
  3. yaboyac29 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    #3
    We need to know WHAT apps you're using.

    3 hours usage of browsing the web will have different results than 3 hours of YouTube.
     
  4. npolly0212 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #4
    My girlfriend downloaded some Jurassic park game? And than the other majority was just safari and messaging. The game was a nice like 45% with safari at 45%
     
  5. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #5
    Did you restore it as new or from a backup? Have you checked your CPU usage to see if something is stuck in the background? Try a hard reboot.
     
  6. npolly0212 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #6
    nothing is running in background other than maybe like 2 minutes on each app...but the lady at the apple store restored it from a backup from my last iPhone.
     
  7. mercedes-c200 macrumors newbie

    mercedes-c200

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
  8. TheMacApple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Location:
    Chicago
    #8
    I shut off weather location and get a lot more time on the battery
     
  9. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #9
    Try setting up as new and not from a backup. Could be the issue.
     
  10. npolly0212 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #10
    How do I go about this? Never had a problem like this before. Do I need to backup some sort of way or something?
     
  11. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #11
    Settings up as new is literally what it sounds like. You set up the phone brand new. Not from a backup. You will lose anything that is not saved into iCloud and any app data that doesn't back up to iCloud or its own backup server. For example Real Racing 3 backs up to EA's server, so no data would be lost incase you need to restore your phone as new.
     
  12. npolly0212 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #12
    No no I mean if I back up my iPhone's pictures and whatnot will I be able to transfer them back to the phone later?
     
  13. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #13
    If you transfer them to the computer and create a folder in pictures or in your photos app, yes you can transfer them back. They just will not be in camera roll.
     
  14. npolly0212 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #14
    Alright thanks. Will have to try that later
     

Share This Page