iPhone 6S needs 4GB RAM

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sanke1, Oct 24, 2014.

  1. sanke1 macrumors 65816

    sanke1

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    #1
    1. It would be industry first
    2. Would bring mobile iOS up to desktop standards.
    3. Shut up anti Apple trolls for a good 2-3 years on RAM and multitasking issues
    4. Even better apps making use of 1-2 GB RAM at given time.
    5. Force poor souls who just purchased iPhone 6/6+ to upgrade :p
    6. Better PR

    But will Apple actually upgrade it? Are they too cheap to do it?
     
  2. sonicrobby macrumors 68020

    sonicrobby

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #2
    I wish, but I think we will be lucky if they put in the 2GBs that the iPads use now.
     
  3. noobinator macrumors 603

    noobinator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
  4. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #4
    I stopped at 1. because Apple doesn't advertise RAM in the iPhone.
     
  5. saberz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    #5
    Also developers would still need to account for 1gb of ram as a standard for the next few years until devices with that amount of memory are phased out
     
  6. I7guy macrumors P6

    I7guy

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    Gotta be in it to win it
    #6
    Not withstanding the snarky points, it the air 2 has 2 gig, the 6s will have 2 gigs also, along with an updated processor.
     
  7. mustbepbs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #7
    It would bring it up to desktop standards? In what way? Having an arbitrary number in common? Methinks you don't understand what you're complaining about.
     
  8. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #8
    At the most we can hope the 6S has 2GB of RAM, but there are no guarantees on that!

    4GB is just plain dreaming. Maybe the iPhone 8 or 9:rolleyes:
     
  9. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #9
    Agreed, specs aren't everything.
     
  10. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #10
    you clearly have zero clue.
     
  11. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #11
    It certainly would make the 6S future proof. Which is exactly what Apple doesn't want
     
  12. PixelpusherBV macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Location:
    Harwich, UK
    #12
    I'd just be happy with whatever ram is required to run the device well, as has been the case in all my idevices (for me at least). Don't really care what the spec-trolls think to be honest, although it always makes for amusing reading:)
     
  13. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #13
    You probably won't realize how bad your iPhone is running until Apple finally releases one with 2GB+. The iPad Air 2 seems to have pretty much no tab reloading
     
  14. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #14
    future proof? sorry, but doesn't exist. most people will change their phones after 2 years so it won't matter if apple put 16gb of ram in there. will you be using the same phone for the next 4-5 yrs if there is 4 gb of ram? its meaningless.
     
  15. hovscorpion12 macrumors 65816

    hovscorpion12

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #15
    4GB of RAM will not be coming to iPhones any time soon. 5-6 years from now. The iPad Air 2 is the first product to have 2GB of RAM. The 2015 iPhone will most likely have 2GB of RAM.
     
  16. Mr Hands macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    #16
    Complaints will still happen.

    I feel like #6 would turn into bitching because #5 would have to take place.

    Can't please everyone.

    Also as said, Apple doesn't advertise RAM specs.

    Phone works fine with 1GB for now. Y'all need to just deal with it.


    MODS- you should create an instaban rule when someone's OP mentions '2GB', 'GATE', 'BENT/BEND' etc.

    For realsies.
     
  17. themyst macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #17
    I'm disappointed that they didn't double the ram like they do every major cycle.

    4/4S = 512MB
    5/5S = 1GB
    6 - 1GB?

    Must be Cookie boy trying to maximize margins instead of doing what makes sense. Seeing a lot of this with these recent announcements, kind of like how they nerfed the iPad Mini 3 to increase sales of the iPad Air 2.
     
  18. vgamedude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    #18
    It won't be an industry first. Android phones coming in early 2015 will have 4gb.
     
  19. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #19
    just ventur over to the MBP area to see how little see people know about RAM
     
  20. vgamedude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    #20
    You want to ban someone for discussing a real issue or point just becase you don't like it?
     
  21. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #21
    If I had 4GB I would probably consider keeping the device longer than 2 years. Which again, is exactly what Apple doesn't want. As it stands now, I don't think I'll be able to keep this phone beyond a year. The CPU and GPU are fine for my uses, but the RAM makes upgrading a necessity with how bloated iOS has been getting
     
  22. Toltepeceno Suspended

    Toltepeceno

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    SMT, Edo MX, MX
    #22
    7. Shut up pro apple trolls from saying the iphone doesn't need any ram at all if apple says it doesn't.
     
  23. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #23
    page re-loaded on the 4 and 4s so doubling it did not stop that on the 5/5s but doubling it again would of helped I guess?
     
  24. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #24
    They didn't reload much in the iOS 4 and iOS 5 days. iOS has gotten incredibly bloated since then.

    Doubling clearly helped on the iPad Air 2. But the issue will probably come back with iOS 9 or 10
     
  25. vgamedude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    #25
    It's about the excess overhead you have. An OS that uses anywhere from say 500-750 mb of ram on os boot on a device with 2 gb of RAM has over 1gb of overhead for apps or anything else.

    If you have 512 mb on your device and the OS takes up 200 mb that's not much overhead for your apps or tabs. Even less when the OS takes up around the same amount.
     

Share This Page