iPhone 6S stuck on Apple logo

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Petulka, May 9, 2019.

  1. Petulka macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm trying to troubleshoot this issue, the phone doesn't react to hard reset so the only way to turn it off is to let the battery die. I'm not able to enter DFU mode as when I charge it back up it automatically starts up. Is there a way to solve this before opening up the phone and trying to disconnect front camera?
     
  2. Lekro macrumors regular

    Lekro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2019
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #2
    If it cannot enter DFU then most likely it has a faulty TID flex or power button flex cable (or the switch itself on the cables).
    Do these buttons click easily and clearly?

    An iPhone should enter DFU pretty much all the time except of course if the motherboard is completely screwed. Even a 7 with loop disease can enter DFU.
     
  3. Petulka thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    #3
    Yup, the buttons click clearly but to enter DFU I have to manualy power up the phone with button combo which I cannot do because;
    1) If it's powered on I cannot turn off with any button combo
    2) If I drain the battery out it switches itself on after charging to 5%

    So for me the only possibility seems to hit the timing before it turns itself on and when it won't because of low battery. Of course that's without taking it apart.
     
  4. Lekro macrumors regular

    Lekro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2019
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #4
    So which button is unresponsive? TID or power button?

    You can try cleaning the power button with alcohol and a cotton swab. Then rapidly press the button many times. If it is contact issue then this could fix it.
     
  5. Petulka thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    #5
    I borrowed my colleagues screwdriver set but he missplaced the pentalobe one so I gotta wait till monday. Power button definitely works as it shows drained battery when pressed, TID seems little wobbly. The hard reset should always work no matter what and it’s most likely the TID?
     
  6. Lekro macrumors regular

    Lekro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2019
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #6
    Can’t you test the home button when the device is on?
     
  7. Petulka thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    #7
    How when it's stuck on apple logo...?
     
  8. Lekro macrumors regular

    Lekro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2019
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #8
    Sorry I missed that part. If it can't go past the Apple logo and does not react to reset it is a TID problem. It can either be fixed with a new TID (fingerprint reader won't work), new cable between the TID and motherboard (can be separated from the screen assembly with care) or it needs motherboard repair which there is no way to guess without inspection.

    By default, the 6S can operate without a TID installed but a faulty one can cause bootlooping.
     
  9. Lekro macrumors regular

    Lekro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2019
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #9
    What you can also try is to download RecBoot on a Mac and you can kick it into recovery mode with that.

    Also try to power on the phone with the TID disconnected.
     
  10. Petulka thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    #10
    Well after opening it up, the TID flex is snapped so that's probably why it doesn't work. Tried booting without TID and without front camera without luck. Gonna buy replacement TID and see further.

    RecBoot says it's in recovery mode but nothing really happens.
     
  11. Lekro macrumors regular

    Lekro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2019
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #11
    It should boot without TID. I just turned a 6S on without it.

    I hope the new button fixes the issue for you but there might be an underlying problem.
     
  12. Petulka thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    #12
    I was able to hard reset and restore the phone with new button but it stopped working after first boot, yay anyway.
     

Share This Page

11 May 9, 2019