iPhone 6s - Tmobile edition - No Cellular Settings?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by incarnate, Sep 25, 2015.

  1. incarnate macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    #1
    I purchased an iPhone 6s direct from Apple.com and purchased the phone outright. I use Straight Talk (AT&T MNVO). I put my Straight Talk sim in, and I don't see the Cellular Settings in the Settings Menu. Is my phone not unlocked? I removed the Tmobile SIM before powering it on. I put in my Straight Talk SIM, plugged it into my computer with iTunes, and powered it on.

    It never showed the "Unlocked" message that others reported. Is my phone not unlocked? Am I screwed?
     
  2. bohbot16 macrumors 6502a

    bohbot16

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    #2
    Try doing a backup and restore in itunes
     
  3. incarnate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    #3
    I tried that, and I still don't see the settings. I'm worried because I am porting my number from another provider as well, and I don't want to lose my number. :(

    The menu should be under General, correct?
     
  4. incarnate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    #4
    Any other thoughts? Tried backing up and restoring a second time, and still nothing. Didn't see the unlocked message in iTunes, and still can't find the APN menu. :(
     
  5. E3BK macrumors 68020

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Have you restored as new or tried to reset all network settings? The TMO full price direct from Apple.com should be unlocked. You said you have a Straight Talk/AT&T SIM, yes? Does it work in the phone? If so, the phone is unlocked.
     
  6. incarnate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    #6
    I will try and restore as new. I don't know how to reset all network settings. The SIM is in the phone, but shows No Service. If I take the SIM out, it shows No SIM, so it appears that the SIM is recognized in the phone.

    Edit: I think I found the Reset Network Settings option.

    Thank you for the help. I will respond back after I try these options.
     
  7. E3BK macrumors 68020

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    OK. If it doesn't work after you restore, you should call Apple. If you purchased full price, it should be unlocked. AT&T may actually limit your access to the Cellular settings but first find out if your phone will work on their network.

    Was there a reason you didn't buy the full price AT&T version?
     
  8. incarnate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    #8
    I ordered from Apple.com, and the Tmobile version was the only version you could buy without an account with the carrier, plus everyone said that version has always been unlocked. :)

    I doubt Apple will help. I'm not doing an officially supported thing at the moment. People were always getting different answers when asking about unlocked 6s phones at launch. I'm sure they'll tell me it will only work with tmobile or something.

    Reset Network Settings didn't appear to work. Doing a full reset now. Will report back again.

    Thanks.
     
  9. E3BK macrumors 68020

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    No, they know that's why people buy that phone. It should be unlocked. It's contract free and not locked to TMO for that reason. Apple won't get mad at you if you ask them about it. :)
     
  10. incarnate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    #10
    Full reset didn't appear to work either. I'll wait until tomorrow moring to see if the full port of my number goes through. Maybe it will show service after that part is completed. (I hope)
     
  11. E3BK macrumors 68020

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    ohhhh!!!! The SIM isn't active yet? Well that's likely why.
     
  12. incarnate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    #12
    Shouldn't I still at least see the option to change the APN settings?
     
  13. Lobwedgephil macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    No.
    You're confusing yourself and everyone else here.
    Your phone is fully unlocked. Your sim is the issue.
    The phone not displaying an unlocked message doesn't mean the phone is locked or unlocked.
    Another fact is that the options you see are determined by your carrier. Just because the phone is unlocked it doesn't mean you can mess with apn settings. Most carriers do not give access to the end user to be able to edit those settings . Those apn settings are installed and loaded automatically by your carrier when the sim connects to their network.
    You're welcome.
    Enjoy your new phone.
     
  15. incarnate thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    #15
    That's not necessarily true with Straight Talk. Its different than Sprint, Tmobile, ATT, or Verizon. I was thinking that if the correct APN settings weren't set, it wouldn't connect to the network and stay in the "No Service" state.

    I will wait until tomorrow and see if anything changes. Thanks again.
     
  16. Applejuiced, Sep 25, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2015

    Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    You thought wrong.
    You don't need to set any apn settings for a device to connect to a certain GSM or CDMA network.
     
  17. menist macrumors regular

    menist

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    #17
  18. E3BK macrumors 68020

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC

Share This Page