iPhone 6s wifi chipset

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Serban, Nov 2, 2015.

  1. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #1
    It is different from current Macs?
    on wifi ac i get full signal on my imac and macbooks, but on my iphone or ipads not so strong signal.Same distance for all of them

    I suppose the chipsets from ios devices are different from Macs?

    iphone 6s/ipad air 2- Macbook/iMac/Macbook Pro
     
  2. Newtons Apple macrumors G5

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #2
    There is more to it than just the chip set. The antenna has much to do with it.
     
  3. Serban thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
  4. Subwaymac macrumors regular

    Subwaymac

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    The wifi hotspot on all macs is the worst. My 5S was horrid as is the 6 and 6S. With the new 300mbps I was hoping they had fixed it but I forgot Apple hates data users so I doubt they ever will.
     
  5. cbrand493 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    #5
    The wifi antenna in an iPhone is a) tiny and b) low power because it's in a phone and powered by a relatively tiny battery.
     
  6. Subwaymac macrumors regular

    Subwaymac

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #6
    All the android phones I've had are fast and as good as a wireless router
     
  7. Serban thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #7
    i tried with a Note 4 and same problem, never got full wifi signal on 5ghz band
    so i guess its all about the antenna
     
  8. cbrand493 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    #8
    Alternatively it's your router. Remember 5GHz has a very small range and doesn't travel through walls/doors etc well.
     
  9. tl01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #9
    Apple hates data users? I hadn't read that anywhere? My phone lets me consume plenty of data!
     
  10. Serban thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #10
    i have the Time Capsule...so if all my macs had full signal and all my smartphones doesn't have...i am pretty sure because of the small antennas from the smartphones and the wifi chip
     
  11. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #11
    Testing at home using speed test 5s used to max out at 100 down. My 6s maxes out at 120. Don't see what the issue is.
     
  12. AbSoluTc macrumors 68040

    AbSoluTc

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #12
    Yet you continue to buy their products and complain. Fancy that. Perhaps Android would be a better fit?

    I've never had a connectivity issue on my iPhone. Ever. 3G on up to the current model.
     
  13. Serban thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #13
    common guys, peace on Earth
    i didn't know why smartphones don't have full signal on the 5ghz band and why my macs has full on the same distance
    i thought that is an iOS or the wifi chips from manufacture the problem but ive tested with 1 android and same thing, with 1 line below max
    So it must to be the antennas power ,its obvious that in any macs you have more room for a better hardware chip
    ive watched tear down and it is size difference
     
  14. CNeufeld macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    #14
    It's more likely an issue with how much power is being used (cell phones being much more sensitive to radio power usage vs a laptop) and antennae design (again, laptops having much more flexibility in designing a more effective antennae).

    Anandtech (http://www.anandtech.com/show/9686/the-apple-iphone-6s-and-iphone-6s-plus-review/14) says the chip is the same as in the current MacBook, in any case.

    C
     
  15. Subwaymac macrumors regular

    Subwaymac

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #15
    Well then you aren't using the wifi hotspot. Everything else works great. I use iPhone and android
     
  16. tl01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #16
    I use my phone's wifi hotspot. What is the issue? It worked better than the one on my android.
     
  17. Subwaymac macrumors regular

    Subwaymac

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #17
    It's slow, the signal is so weak it has to be just a few feet away to work right etc.

    I've called Apple and the guy I talked to said his was the same way.

    Oddly it seems to connect to Apple devices better than let's say a google tv box or Xbox one. Android hotspots work better as I've been using different hotspots for 5 years
     
  18. AbSoluTc macrumors 68040

    AbSoluTc

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #18
    Never had an issue. Was able to connect to my phones hotspot from up to 40 feet away.
     
  19. tl01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #19
    I haven't had an issue. My kids get a strong signal from my 6 and now 6s plus. They stream Netflix and YouTube from it without issue. Sometimes on of my kids's iPads won't connect to it but range and signal isn't the issue. Once it connects there's no issue.

    I'll admit, I don't sit and run speed tests on their iPad via hotspot...as long as it works for steaming then I'm happy.

    We do have home internet for our x box so I don't use hotspot for it.
     
  20. Subwaymac macrumors regular

    Subwaymac

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #20
    Yeah I agree when it connects it works fine but that seems to be rare
     
  21. tl01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #21
    It's only one out of like 587853 iPads we have had that has had this issue. I don't feel that it is a "hot spot" issue. I suspect it is a software issue on the iPad since the others are fine. The reception looks fine and it can see it fine...it just says it can't connect over and over again.
     
  22. Subwaymac macrumors regular

    Subwaymac

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #22
    I have tried hot spot on iPad Air 2, iPhones 5s 6 and 6s all of them are not good.
     

Share This Page