iPhone 7 Plus issue #homebuttongate

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by davidx1219, Sep 24, 2016.

  1. davidx1219, Sep 24, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2016

    davidx1219 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    #1
    Does anyone have an issue with the iPhone 7 plus touch id error saying can't activate touch id on this iPhone and the home button not responding. can't even unlock my iPhone right now ughhh it was working fine until i updated it to 10.0.2
     
  2. kerrikins macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #2
    Someone earlier mentioned having an issue similar to this. Try resetting your settings and rebooting your phone, and leaving 'gates' out of your thread titles.
     
  3. Lobwedgephil macrumors 68040

    Lobwedgephil

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
  4. Relentless Power macrumors Core

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
  5. rainafterthesun macrumors 6502

    rainafterthesun

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #5
    I hard reset every time.

    If I absolutely have to, once backed up, restore factory settings...
     
  6. davidx1219 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    #6
    I tried a hard rest holding down the sleep/wake and volume down button still doesn't work i'm resetting my phone right now will keep you guys updated on how it goes
     
  7. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #7
    No there is no widespread known problem with Touch ID.
     
  8. davidx1219 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    #8
    reseted my phone still doesn't work can't get pass the setup screen now
     
  9. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #9
    Bummer. May have faulty phone. Or user error :)
     
  10. davidx1219 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    #10
    If i make a genius bar appt will they have the phone in stock or i'm out of luck
     
  11. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #11
    Generally they have replacement units on hand.
     
  12. davidx1219 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    #12
    good to hear the phone I just got it today so i hope they can give me a new one
     
  13. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #13
    Unfortunate. Hope they help you. Not to insult you. But you do know how to setup Touch ID?
     
  14. davidx1219 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    #14
    I set up touch ID when i was at the apple store it work fine but when i got home and updated to 10.0.2 it started to go downhill can't unlock my phone tried everything the home button doesn't work i have to turn on assistive touch
     
  15. zmunkz macrumors 6502a

    zmunkz

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    #15
    Generally, yes... But several threads on here are reporting the 7+ is not even available in replacement unit stock in some stores. Call ahead and make sure.
     
  16. AppleFan91 macrumors 65816

    AppleFan91

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Indy, US
    #16
    Oh look, another #gate because one out of 10,000,000,000,000,000 iPhones may not be working 100%.

    That being said, hopefully it works out. Let us know what Apple says
     
  17. Gathomblipoob macrumors 601

    Gathomblipoob

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #17
    Well, Watergate was only one out of thousands of office complexes in the world at that time. :D
     
  18. zmunkz macrumors 6502a

    zmunkz

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    #18
    Yes, and have you heard? This was Apple's worst product launch in history again! Lol
     
  19. evorc macrumors 6502a

    evorc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
  20. VSMacOne macrumors 601

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #20
    OP, did you try turning off TouchID, deleting your prints and starting from scratch?
     
  21. davidx1219 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    #21
    I don't think is the touch ID my whole home buttom isn't working basically if i open an app I can close it
     

Share This Page