iPhone 7+ Product Red - Which LTE Modems?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by chriscrowlee, Mar 31, 2017.

  1. chriscrowlee macrumors 65816

    chriscrowlee

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    Considering buying the new red iphone 7 plus. I currently have the silver one with the inferior LTE modem in it (bought the ATT version). Is it still the case where the Verizon one has the modem which performs better? If I buy outright, it's unlocked and will work fine on ATT and TMO right?

    Thanks!
     
  2. blairian89 macrumors 6502

    blairian89

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    It depends on what model you purchase. If you purchase the SIM-free or Verizon version (A1661) it will have the Qualcomm modem instead of the Intel one. If it is important to you to have the Qualcomm modem then make sure that the device you get is model A1661; Verizon or SIM-free should have the same model numbers. A1661 will work on all carriers in the U.S. to include AT&T and T-Mobile. If you get the AT&T version or T-Mobile version it will be limited to those two carriers.

    I really don't think that there's THAT much of a difference between the two modems, so to each their own. I prefer the unlocked / SIM-free devices because of the flexibility to switch carriers and the increased possibility for resale.
     
  3. chriscrowlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    chriscrowlee

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    Ended up buying an unlocked (qualcomm) version. Research shows 20%+ improvement ... that's huge .. 2% is big... 20% is HUGE.
     
  4. blairian89 macrumors 6502

    blairian89

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Doing 12 mph in a 10 mph zone is a 20% difference too; huge from a percentage standpoint but the difference is really negligible. In real world use (and I have had both versions) I could not discern any difference between the two in terms of reception, speed or call quality. YMMV, but I think that it was really blown out of proportion.

    The unlocked Qualcomm version is the way to go, not just for better modem performance, but for the flexibility of provider and increased resale opportunities.
     
  5. chriscrowlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    chriscrowlee

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    "it's not a big deal but it's a big deal" lol
     
  6. blairian89, Apr 5, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2017

    blairian89 macrumors 6502

    blairian89

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    Pretty much. I am not disputing the fact that one is better than the other; it is verifiable information. I just think that the difference was blown out of proportion and in real world use I could not tell a difference between the two models.

    Granted, the speculation is rife and this would explain my experience with the two different models:

    http://appleinsider.com/articles/16...em-to-keep-performance-on-par-with-intel-chip

    Plenty of other sources still say that there is a marked difference.
     
  7. se1000 macrumors 6502

    se1000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    LA, CA
    #7
    heh, the Qualcomm one is 100% better on CDMA networks
     
  8. blairian89 macrumors 6502

    blairian89

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    Lmfao...very true considering that the Intel modem won't even connect to a CDMA network!
     
  9. chriscrowlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    chriscrowlee

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #9
    If you download the Verizon app, it'll add CDMA to the phone... ;-)

    And if you download the TMO app, it'll give you coverage isn't complete garbage.... ;-) x2
     
  10. SoN1NjA macrumors 65816

    SoN1NjA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Location:
    viewing products I can't afford
  11. barkomatic macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Manhattan
    #11
    Apparently, the unlocked Verizon model is the only one that will work both on Verizon/Sprint and AT&T/T-mobile. I have Verizon and at first they tried out my sim in the unlocked version and it didn't work. We thought there was a problem with the sim, but the manager came out and explained the above, popped it in the Verizon model and it worked fine.
     
  12. blairian89 macrumors 6502

    blairian89

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    No shitte. That's interesting; never have heard that before but I have heard stranger things
     
  13. cnotes2019 Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    #13
    Not even true as recently I've only bought sim free and it works on any carrier.
     
  14. barkomatic, Apr 14, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2017

    barkomatic macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Manhattan
    #14
    All I can say is that was my experience at the Apple store, but if your Sim free iPhone 7/+ works on Verizon/Sprint LTE *and* 3G that's great.
     
  15. chriscrowlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    chriscrowlee

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #15
    Untrue... you can't just pop the sim in tho. You have to register your IMEI to the verizon network for it to work. You call or go into the store to do that. A Verizon version will auto-register itself by putting the sim in because the IMEI is on file with Verizon already, whereas the IMEIs of the sim-free ones aren't pre-registered. Not a big deal.
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Its Yuge anecdotal evidence that all :)
    When it comes to real life experience there is barely any noticeable difference.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 14, 2017 ---
    No you dont.
    If the phone is unlocked and CDMA capable you dont need to register anything to verizons network for the phone to work.
    You just pop in the sim and it works.
     
  17. chriscrowlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    chriscrowlee

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #17
    YMMV, depends on if it registers to the network or not. Verizon REQUIRES a phone's IMEI\ESN to be registered in their system for the CDMA functionality to work. If it's a verizon branded iPhone, by putting in the SIM it enables the LTE and CDMA because the two are already on file so it's an automatic process. In most cases, if you just slip a SIM into a sim-free iPhone, it'll work fine on LTE, however there will be issues with the CDMA side of it until you call Verizon and associate the IMEI\ESN to the network manually. Since most people never leave LTE on verizon these days most wouldn't even notice most likely.

    But sorry, you lost a bit of credibility calling objective lab tests "anecdotal evidence" .... the very definition of anecdotal is "not necessarily true or reliable, because based on personal accounts rather than facts or research." The very facts that brought this entire Intel vs Qualcomm debate to life were based on fact and evidence obtained by research. Maybe less time trying to make joke and more time on actual facts.
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    I dont know about your claims.
    You just stick a valid verizon sim inside an unlocked iphone and it works.
    That's it, no registering anything is needed on verizons website.

    Lab conditions and real world conditions are very different weather you realize it or not.
    Believe what you want but tiny things are blown into big proportions online so if it makes you feel happy you have the better baseband chip model :D
    Congrats!
     
  19. chriscrowlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    chriscrowlee

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #19
    You go try that, then turn off LTE, and see how that goes for you.
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    I dont have a verizon sim but everyone else that uses non verizon iphones and unlocked iphones have no problems connecting to their CDMA network.
     
  21. thadoggfather macrumors 604

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #21
    It's not gonna matter anyways

    In no time itll be intel only
    Radios

    Apple and Qualcomm aren't really getting along great, recently

    I didn't notice any difference in my poor reception in my apartment when I had a 7 Qualcomm and a 7 intel (128 was only available in Qualcomm Verizon at the store )

    Returned it cause it had a crappy screen and went 7+ att cause it's all they had.

    I can't be on Verizon but I wasn't wanting to be so
     
  22. chriscrowlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    chriscrowlee

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #22
    Everyone said the same thing of the relationship between Apple and Intel when Apple made computer processors. Everyone said the same thing of the relationship with Apple's main supplier of parts being their #1 competitor in Samsung. Just because two companies have legal issues with each other doesn't change that they rely on one another. And Apple definitely relies on Qualcomm at least at this point.

    As for the difference, I notice slight improvement at home where I have 1-2 bars. Obviously I don't have the equipment to do scientific tests, but I believe the 5%-20% advantage the Qualcomm has over the Intel. If someone offered you the same job with 5-20% more pay, why would you not take the same job for more pay? Why would someone buy the Intel if they can benefit even 5% performance from the Qualcomm?
    --- Post Merged, Apr 14, 2017 ---
    Yeah, most people who get a new Verizon phone are used calling verizon to put the ESN\IMEI on file when they get a new device. It's the way its been done for years.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 14, 2017 ---
    So let's say it makes a 5% difference.... humor me... let's say it makes 1% difference. Why would anyone opt to not buy the phone if it gives them 1% better coverage? If you could live 1% longer would you call it insignificant? If you could make 1% more, would you call it insignificant?
     
  23. thadoggfather macrumors 604

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #23
    Dont get me wrong if they still offer Qualcomm and Intel radios moving forward I will opt for Qualcomm not because I've had a bad or noticeable intel experience, in fact as stated in my crappy reception apartment I noticed no difference and it still is a bump above my
    6s+ In that regard. It is whack apple does what they do but they're penny Pinchers and they don't want reliance on any one supplier or single point of supplier failure.

    I got mine fully knowing it was intel but att 7+ is all they had. And then they had no 7+ whatsoever forever after that

    Couldn't have kept waiting. And might've cost me a jailbreak since 10.1,1 is the only 7/7+ version that can be and that's old by iOS 10 timeline now.

    My point is, it doesn't really matter

    And if I weren't in US or China (I think) or Singapore (can't remember Qualcomm markets) I wouldnt sweat anything cause you got no other choice unless you want to pay international shipping and go through the hassle for carrier tech your country doesn't even have.

    I also have a Samsung SE. I have the worst of the devices. I was happy to have TSMC 6s+ because my specific device got good battery.

    Mine are jailbroken so I win most of all :D

    And I trade up too often to be concerned with this stuff beyond my OCD and wanting a good screen to look at
     
  24. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #24
    lol :)
    You are too funny, if you could live 1% longer?
    Ok bud, sure it's the same thing.
     
  25. chriscrowlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    chriscrowlee

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #25
    LOL, so if they offer Intel vs Qualcomm in the future, you'll go Qualcomm, but "it doesn't really matter" ... hmmm, sounds like rationalizing your purchase to yourself. Don't worry, we all do it, intended or not. There's 100% logic to buying a Qualcomm over an Intel. Arguing it doesn't matter is like saying you'd rather have 40 cents instead of a dollar. It's a losing position.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 14, 2017 ---
    1% of an average lifetime is 7-8 months longer life. It's funny how you think 1% is only significant if it's relative to YOUR tastes.

    The point is whether it's 1% or 20% or anywhere in between, it's absolutely documented that it's an improvement. Why would anyone NOT want an improvement, regardless of how insignificant?
     

Share This Page