iPhone 7plus camera setting : Lock Camera Lenses?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by scotio200, Sep 17, 2016.

  1. scotio200 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    #1
    anyone know what this does? Found it in settings/photo & camera/record video


    Does the iPhone record video with both lenses at the same time and switch to the one with the best image automatically?
     
  2. lancastor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #2
    No, you have to manually click on the "1x" and "2x" button.
     
  3. scotio200 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    #3
    Yeah I know that, but I'm wanting to know what auto switch does?
     
  4. lancastor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #4
    Can you share a screenshot of the settings menu? I haven't hear about such a setting yet.
     
  5. scotio200 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    #5
    See attached
     

    Attached Files:

  6. lancastor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #6
    Try to zoom with pinching during video recording.

    Of course with setting ON the canera doesn't change between 1x and 2x automiticaly while pinching.

    Try it out and give us a feedback.
     
  7. scotio200 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    #7
    Tried the above, pinching to zoom works, hard to tell if it's the same camera. Still able to tap on 1x to go to 2x also.
     
  8. ventmore macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #8
    So the the phone can seamlessly switch between cameras whilst recording videos?

    I wasn't aware of that......sounds impressive! :)
     
  9. penajmz macrumors 68030

    penajmz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #9
    It's actually extremely seamless. I don't even understand how it does it. So instant.
     
  10. ventmore macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #10
    Cool!

    Look forward to checking it out when I eventually get hold of one through the upgrade program. :)
     
  11. lancastor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #11
    No it can't. At a special zoom level it switches to to next camera. It looks like seamlessly. But it's not. It's a mixture of digital and optical zoom.
     
  12. ventmore macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #12
    It realise it has to actually make the switch, but do you actually see the transition in the recorded video, because if not, then I'd call it seamless. :)

    Surely, if it "looks like seamlessly", then it basically is. :)
     
  13. ovo6 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    #13
    I decided to lock the lens because yesterday watching videos one of them quality was **** because it automatic changed the lens
     

Share This Page