iPhone X iPhone 8 plus stuck searching

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by UnLiMiTeD558, Aug 9, 2018.

  1. UnLiMiTeD558 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    #1
    #1
    Randomly about an hour ago I went to use my phone and it had no network connection. It just says searching, even when I remove the sim it doesn't say no sim and it continues to search. I've rebooted, hard reset, cellular on and off, airplane on and off, reset network settings and no change

    To kick it off I'm away from home at work until tomorrow, luckily I have a cellular tablet to hold me over but is there anything else I'm missing that I can do while away? First time issue for me
     
  2. UnLiMiTeD558 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
  3. MarkX macrumors regular

    MarkX

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Location:
    Fochabers, Scotland
    #3
    Backup your phone if it isn't already and then erase and restore.

    If it's a hardware fault it probably won't fix it but at least you'll know
     
  4. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #4
    Maybe contact your carrier. Is it possible you are in a location with “No Service”.
     
  5. MarkX macrumors regular

    MarkX

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Location:
    Fochabers, Scotland
    #5
    That doesn't explain why the phone is still searching with the sim out.
     
  6. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #6
    If the SIM card is out and there is no WiFi connection there would be NO Service.
     
  7. MarkX macrumors regular

    MarkX

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Location:
    Fochabers, Scotland
    #7
    I know that. If that was the case then the phone wouldn't be searching for a signal as the OP has described.
     
  8. UnLiMiTeD558 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    #8
    Have service because my cellular tablet is in my share plan on same network working fine

    Just got home so I’m going to wipe it and restore it and hope for the best. Even when I turn it to airplane mode right now it’s burning through battery like crazy
     
  9. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #9
    Sounds like a plan. Having poor cellular service can drain a battery pretty fast but then you have an iPad that works fine.

    Good luck to you.
     
  10. UnLiMiTeD558 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    #10
    Yes but it was draining while in airplane mode. So far looks promising, in the midst of restoring but its showing a signal now

    Very bizarre situation, that’s one hell of a software screw up
     
  11. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #11
    No so sure it is a software screw up.
     
  12. UnLiMiTeD558 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    #12
    What makes you say that? After wiping and restoring its back to normal now. Software restore wouldn’t fix a hardware issue

    Not getting my hopes up too high yet, see how it runs through today but so far it’s not dropping out
     
  13. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #13
    I have turned phones on and off and had things "get fixed" before. See how it goes for the next few days.
     
  14. UnLiMiTeD558 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    #14
    Well in this case it was hard reset multiple times and rebooted and every toggle on and off. It wasn’t until I wiped the phone entirely and restored it that it came back

    But yea, fingers crossed over the next couple days. I rely on my phone for work, work on call so I’ll be paying close attention
     
  15. UnLiMiTeD558 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    #15
    Quick update, been using it all day and not a single network drop. So no idea what the heck that was but for anyone in the same situation as me, back up and restore was the only fix that worked
     

Share This Page