Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BurlyChulengo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 25, 2017
Hello all, I am a longtime reader/lurker but this is my first time posting!

With all the excitement and buzz about wireless charging on the iPhone 8, I started to think... Will it really be any better? Maybe I am not thinking of all the possible use scenarios, but wireless charging is typically much slower. Then again, I mostly just charge my phone while I am sitting at a desk all day. Where will we really start to see the benefit of a feature like this? I can see some benefit if restaurants, coffee shops, etc. start integrating charging into the tables like some do already for Qi, but I was just wondering what everyone else is thinking about it.

Reactions: KeanosMagicHat

bufffilm

Suspended
May 3, 2011
Inductive charging would be innovative. Wireless charging has been around for a few years, just not for iPhones.

Quick charging is something else and may be useful (depending on your use case).

I don't care about wireless charging. And quick charging is a low-totem feature for me.

But I have a 6s and I can still use the 3.5mm jack and charge my phone simultaneously. Those on the 7/+...I presume wireless charging may help somewhat in those cases...ymmv.

Newtons Apple

Suspended
Mar 12, 2014
Jacksonville, Florida

With all the excitement and buzz about wireless charging on the iPhone 8, I started to think... Will it really be any better? Maybe I am not thinking of all the possible use scenarios, but wireless charging is typically much slower. Then again, I mostly just charge my phone while I am sitting at a desk all day. Where will we really start to see the benefit of a feature like this? I can see some benefit if restaurants, coffee shops, etc. start integrating charging into the tables like some do already for Qi, but I was just wondering what everyone else is thinking about it.