iPhone and iPad not connecting to Wifi?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by aleixtriado, Oct 4, 2017.

  1. aleixtriado macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    #1
    Hi!



    I've been trying to connect to my university's Wifi, and I do connect with my Macbook, but I cannot with my iPhone or iPad.



    This Wifi, is a "eduroam"type, and it asks me to install a Profile with my user and the config in order to get a connection.



    The thing is that I install it, and it doesn't work with my iPad or iPhone but it does with my Mac.

    I've tried with a friend's iPad Pro and it works perfectly so.. I don't know what to do.



    These are my devices.

    iPhone 6s with iOS 11

    iPad Pro 9.7 with iOS 11





    Things I tried:

    -Reinstall the profile a million times

    -Reset Network settings

    -Disable mobile data help to low Wifi signals

    -Factory reset on my iPad



    If you have any idea..



    Thank you!
     
  2. Cascades42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Go to the help desk and ask if they can check the logs, they should be able to pinpoint the issue further.

    It's also worth checking in the settings of the network if configure proxy is on - if it is then turn it off.
     
  3. bufffilm Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #3
    You should be working with the school IT dept.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Like said above contact the network admin.
     
  5. aleixtriado thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    #5
    Thanks for your replys.

    I’ve already talked with the network guy.. but my user is working perfectly on my mac he says it should also work on my iphone.

    I have the proxy off..

    Thank you again.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 4, 2017 ---
    He says I don’t even appear as a connection request on RADIUS server.. and he doesn’t know what else to do.


    Thank you!
     
  6. Cascades42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    If you don't appear as an entry then something doesn't line up, Radius should also have logs from your Mac! You don't need to use the Eduroam CAT tool to connect, but it ought to make life easier - have you tried straight up connecting to the network instead?
     
  7. aleixtriado thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    #7
    Hi!
    Since i don’t know the router pass.. I haven’t tried.. I only have my user and password to log in via Profile.

    I’ll try to use this tool you recommend!

    Thank you!
     
  8. Cascades42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    The Eduroam CAT tool basically installs the certificates for you. Connecting to Eduroam directly should ask you for your username and password.
     
  9. aleixtriado thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    #9
    I cannot use the Eduroam tool.. my college is’nt in their list.

    Connecting directly doesn’t work either.

    This is the profile I installed:

    esmuc.eduroam.mobileconfig
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Sounds like the network guy didnt feel like helping you. Did he tell you to go to a macrumors site instead?
    Go to him and have him figure it in person and dont leave until its connected.
     

Share This Page

9 October 4, 2017