iphone apps that do not appear

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by iphooey, Aug 4, 2009.

  1. iphooey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #1
    I recently reset my iphone 3gs. I also redownloaded and installed all updates. My iphone is not jailbroke. I can no longer install new applications on my iphone. I have not lost any of my applications that I installed previous to the reset. Does anyone have any ideas how to fix this problem?
     
  2. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    What firmware are you running on? Maybe you need to update to the latest firmware.

    If not, can you try downloading one of the free apps? Or can you just not download any apps at all?

    What message pops up when you can't download the apps?




    If all else fails, restore.
     
  3. iphooey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #3
    working somewhat

    I am not sure what version of firmware. It says Version: 3.0.1. There is a different number under modem firmware. I have restarted my iphone numerous times. The last reboot of both my computer and iphone resulted in the new apps installing. I am still troubled that it takes numerous reboots before the apps will show up on my iphone. I can download the apps and they show up in itunes on my computer. They just do not show up on my phone after simple sync. It requires numerous reboots.
     
  4. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Try doing a restore through DFU mode, not a reboot.

    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1034
     
  5. iphooey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #5
    more info

    I am trying that now. Is there a limit to how many applications you can place on your iphone? It says I have 26.93 gb of space left. 1.22 gb is in applications. I have the 32gb iphone
     
  6. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #6
    If you search for the Apps in Spotlight do they appear? You might have more than the visual "maximum" installed. You can always install more but, they have to be opened via spotlight.
     
  7. iphooey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #7
    I am new to this product. I am unsure where spotlight is. Are you speaking of the list of applications under settings? If so there is a list there that is missing some of the applications I have installed.
    Update:
    Yes I have discovered I have 11 pages of apps and that is all that is allowed (disappointing). *I have indeed maxed out. Thank you all for your help.
     

Share This Page