iPhone as Ipod Touch

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MidMoTiger, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. MidMoTiger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Central Missouri
    #1
    I have a first gen iPhone that I no longer use. Blackberry Bold now. Can I use it as an iPod Touch, like now when I turn it on it wont boot up because it wants to be activated. Can this be done??
     
  2. ilfn143 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    Enron by the Sea
  3. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #3
    Download and run quickpwn. And when it asks if you are using an official carrier click "no" and it will be "hacktivated".
     
  4. benflick macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #4
    I've used Quickpwn numerous times and it has never asked me if I am using an offical carrier. (Not saying you're wrong)
     
  5. MidMoTiger thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Central Missouri
    #5
    Is QuickPwn a Mac program or PC? I'm on a new Macbook.. Thanks guys. I think my phone was on 2.1 last time I used it.
     
  6. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #6
    It's for both.
     
  7. MidMoTiger thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Central Missouri
    #7
    Thank you sir. So if i want to upgrade to 2.2 do I download the Jailbreak 2.2 firmware from that site QuickPwn is on?
     
  8. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #8
    yep. and quickpwn will do all the hard work for you. You have to be updated to 2.2 first and then run quickpwn.
     
  9. dubhe macrumors 65816

    dubhe

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #9
    Why did you chop to the Bold? I'm using an 8310 Curve but also own a Touch. I am due to upgrade in a few months and can't decide between the new 8900 Curve or the iPhone...
     

Share This Page