iPhone camera vs stand alone digital camera

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Samtb, Mar 1, 2015.

1. Samtb macrumors 65816

Why is it that my old 4mp canon digital camera still seems to take better photos even compared to the 8mp camera on iPhone 5 or iPhone 6.

2. ZEEN0j macrumors 6502a

Probably a bigger and better lens and it's not about the megapixels.

3. Samtb thread starter macrumors 65816

So phone cameras will never be as good as stand alones?

4. yjchua95 macrumors 604

Depends on what standalone, but definitely not a DSLR.

However, photography is all about composition. What makes a good or bad picture all depends on the guy behind the viewfinder or holding the camera.

I'm a freelance photographer and some of my best work were shot on my iPhone and not on my 5D Mk3.

5. Samtb thread starter macrumors 65816

I don't know much about photography but I do like taking artistic photos and I just find my canon camera comes out with better quality pictures than the iPhone. Its one of the first Powershot elphs. I thought the iPhone camera would be far more advanced than a 10 year old digital camera.

6. ZEEN0j macrumors 6502a

No. But, the best camera is the one you always have with you.

7. wproct macrumors 6502

wproct

This is statement is very true. The Iphone may not be the best camera, but you always have it with you and it's a pretty good one.:)

8. Samtb thread starter macrumors 65816

I guess for amateurs, that is true.

9. I7guy macrumors G5

While that statement is eminently true and certainly thrown around the internet I've missed a lot of "keepers" with my iphone. Snaps that my Canon DSLR with some good L glass would have captured without sweating.

I've also captured some great snaps with my iphone and at times, elected to leave my bulky equipment home in favor of my iphone.

10. FieldingMellish Suspended