iPhone Cannot Connect to WEP Secured Wi-Fi?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Honest Truth, Jul 24, 2008.

  1. Honest Truth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #1
    I've been having issues with my iphone and wifi networks lately. Some of them worked, and some of them didn't. I couldn't figure out why. My very own wasn't working.

    But then I figured out what they all had in common. WEP security. I don't understand why this won't work...? Is anyone else having these problems?
     
  2. Sobe macrumors 68000

    Sobe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Wash DC suburbs
    #2
    I'm using a WPA2 and it's fine.

    Is WEP your only option?
     
  3. David2070 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    I don't think there are any problems with WEP. Mine connects fine to my WEP network.
     
  4. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #4
    Sorry, but my WEP at home is working quite well as always. You might want to check with your ISP and get them to walk you through it. That's what I did in the very beginning...:(
     
  5. rockstarjoe macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #5
    I had lots of problems with WEP. Switched to WPA2 and everything is peachy. Also, try updating your router to the latest firmware.
     
  6. ogdogg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona
    #6
    Mine runs great on my WEP network. I even had to change the bit settings from 64 to 128 due to the Airport Express inability to run on the 64bit network and had no problems with the iPhone at any time.
     
  7. iSip macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    CLT, NC
    #7
    no problems here either - and i even have an old skool linksys wireless b router that hasn't had a firmware upgrade in who knows how long........
     
  8. SlapMonkey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #8
    Just to take it back a step so to clarify (since everyone else here made assumptions that you knew what WEP security was) are you saying that you can't get on a WEP network even when putting in the correct password, or do you not realize that WEP requires a password?
     
  9. txr0ckabilly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Location:
    Southwest Louisiana
    #9
    i was about to say/ask the same exact thing
     
  10. SlapMonkey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #10
    heh, I used to work tech support so I learned quickly to never assume that people actually know what they are doing... like your sig by the way.
     
  11. extraextra macrumors 68000

    extraextra

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #11
    I'm using an iPod Touch (I think it's nearly the same?) and it connects to my WEP fine. I am using an Apple Airport Extreme Base Station (lol what a mouthful), if that makes any difference.

    Like others have said, open networks will be joined automatically, but for WEP/WPA networks you must enter a password.
     

Share This Page