iPhone Configuration Utility

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by patdesignsinc, Sep 25, 2009.

  1. patdesignsinc macrumors regular

    patdesignsinc

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #1
    I keep getting this iPhone Configuration Utility that I have to download and update. I keep getting an error everytime. Any ideas?
     
  2. FireEater macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Location:
    Texas Gulf Coast
    #2
    Tagging along as I am in the same boat. It has been going on for some weeks now.
     
  3. nickrinaldi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
  4. sinsin07 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #4
    I don't understand this statement. Are you trying to download the utility, update the utility or change a policy on your iphone and update the iphone?
     
  5. CarbonCrew macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #5
    I was having a similar issue.

    Make sure your Microsoft .Net Framework is up to date by going to the Windows Update website and install the updates/patches.
     
  6. Clete2 macrumors 65816

    Clete2

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    I got the same error, but a reboot fixed it..

    It's no big deal. The configuration utility looks to be only good for if you have mass iPhones to configure (e.g. you're a reseller or you have 20 iPhones :O). I'm not sure why they would give that tool to consumers...
     
  7. sinsin07 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #7
    When you say give it to consumers, what do you mean? I had to download it from Apple site. It is a tool for Exchange Admins.

    Edit: What I should have said it is a tool used by Exchange Admins.
     
  8. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #8
    it can also be used to configure your unlocked iPhone to work with T-Mobile.

    I was able to use it to configure my iPhone that was using a GoPhone sim to be able to use data on 3.0.
     
  9. Clete2 macrumors 65816

    Clete2

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    I can see the use for developers who have a testing iPhone and a main iPhone.

    It's an update that is suggested by the Apple Updater by default. That's what I mean. I could use it if I was into iPhone development, but it's defaulted to ask you to install it.
     
  10. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

    ouimetnick

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    #10
    Really? How? I use it to find my UDID, even though I can do that in iTunes. But I use it for mainly crash logs.
     
  11. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #11
    I downloaded iPhone Configuration Utility directly from Apple a few months ago.


    You open the app on the computer and click on provisioning profiles and there you can add all the APN data like the password. It then gives you the option to upload it to your iPhone. It's a gift direct from Apple. :)
    http://support.apple.com/kb/DL851
     
  12. sinsin07 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #12
    A Gift? I think it is more likely that this is requirement for big business to manage iphones in their environment like they do Blackberries.
     
  13. Clete2 macrumors 65816

    Clete2

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    I'm sure it was available to businesses before it was available to the public.
     
  14. sinsin07 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #14
    How do you think businesses get it now?
     
  15. Clete2 macrumors 65816

    Clete2

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #15
    Well, they make special deals with Apple internally B2B.. I'm sure that Apple had some kind of provisioning tool available to businesses.. Otherwise, how would they configure hundreds of iPhones? Apple would have lost a lot of business to that.

    It's kind of like the Windows Automated Installation Kit (AIK).
     
  16. sinsin07 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #16
    Yeah and they told us to download it from their website. And we are not a little business, we have 15,000 macs, and 17500 desktops.
     
  17. Clete2 macrumors 65816

    Clete2

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #17
    Nice. I'm just saying that, before this tool was released, you probably could've obtained it from Apple.

    Of course, I have no real proof, but why wouldn't they have something like this?
     

Share This Page