iPhone could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (1)

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by youradhere4222, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. youradhere4222 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    #1
    I've been having some trouble with my iPhone over the past couple of days. It has been randomly slowing down, freezing up, and lately I've had to do a couple of hard restores.

    Tonight I was out and noticed that it said that no SIM card was installed. I use Verizon so, to my knowledge, there shouldn't be a SIM card in there. After a few hours of trying to hard restore it, it finally came back on but only for 5 minutes before going black again for good.

    Nothing I do can make it boot back up. When I plug it in, iTunes immediately tells me that the phone is in recovery mode. I have tried to boot it up regularly and I believe that I have tried it in DFU mode a few times. It still goes about 70% of the way before giving me the error message that I mentioned in the title. I have tried restarting, changing USB ports, everything. There's no anti-virus program installed on my computer.

    Does anyone have any recommendations? I would really appreciate it!
     
  2. ugcop macrumors 6502a

    ugcop

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Traveling @ Warp Speed ...... USA
  3. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #3
    Op error 1 is a hardware failure.

    The apple store will try 2 things..

    1, restore

    2, dfu restore

    If both fail they will offer you a replacement if you have AppleCare or an out of warranty replacement.
     
  4. youradhere4222 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
  5. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    Your Verizon iPhone 5 does have a SIM card.

    If you type http://gs.apple.com/ into your browser, does it take you to Cydia or a "placeholder" page?
     
  6. Looon macrumors 6502a

    Looon

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #6
    Did you try using a different cable? I've found sometimes that can solve the issue, also make sure you're using an OEM Apple cable not a third party one while doing the restore.
     

Share This Page