iPhone crashed/deactivated

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Flynnstone, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #1
    Yesterday, I pushed the home button on my iPhone 3G 16 gig.
    The screen flashed and went blacked. It was like it was dead. No key presses or combinations would have a response. Eventually it came back and rebooted itself.
    But ... when it came back, the screen had the picture of a USB cable and iTunes. Implying "plug me into iTunes". If I moved the on slider switch, it went to a emergency calling screen. It also said no service in the top left.

    When I got home, I plugged it into my computer and it said something about being activated.
    The phone then started working properly.

    Any one ever seen this?
     
  2. ScottNWDW macrumors 65816

    ScottNWDW

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #2
    Yes that happened to me twice. No rhyme or reason as to why.
     
  3. thestaton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #3
    it's happened to me a time or two... I just do a restart and it usually activates back.
     
  4. revs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    #4
    Yeh has happened to me too. Turning off and on sorted it for me, which was good as I wasnt near the mac
     
  5. eh270 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #5
    I had to cut a weekend trip short because this happened and I didn't have my laptop. Total bummer, hopefully it's not an issue anymore with 3.0

    I've heard something about OTA activations (meaning AT&T activates it without needing to plug it in), anyone know if this might solve the problem if you can't get to your computer?
     
  6. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #6
    Force reboot it next time (hold + home button for 5 secs).

    I've had this one when I was out during the day, told me to plug into iTunes after something went wrong. I force rebooted and it came back to life again.
     

Share This Page