iphone data fee

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by otis123, Jun 13, 2007.

  1. otis123 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    #1
    is there going to be a data fee like on blackberrys? my dad wont get the data plan because he doesnt wanna spend the xtra $30 a month (which baffles me since he has a blackberry)
     
  2. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    You will be required to get a data plan, the cost has not been announced yet.
     
  3. otis123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    #3
    but i use EDGE with my current phone and can get on the (baby) internet, wont it use the same connection speed?
     
  4. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    The iPhone uses EDGE, so the data plan would also connect via EDGE.
     
  5. kevinwiz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Location:
    socal
    #5
    where has it been announced that you will be required to have a data plan? i just think thats what everyone is assuming.
     
  6. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    Actually, thats the wrong article. I can't remember where I saw the one that said it was going to be required.

    Hell, every smartphone requires a data plan ... the iPhone will be no different.

    Besides, why would you want it without the data plan ??
     
  7. kevinwiz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Location:
    socal
    #8
    because it would make the price at least $90 a month
     
  8. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    How is that different from all other smartphones out there ?
     
  9. otis123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    #10
    good question to ask my mom and dad who both have blackberrys with no data plans, i cant even find a web browser on ether of their phones
     
  10. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #11
    Yeah check out at&t's website,

    no smart phone that I found requires a data plan!
     
  11. brandon6684 Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    #12
    I can't see it requiring a data plan either, though I'm sure the sales people will push hard for it, and for many people the iPhone doesn't make quite as much sense without it. Quite a few people I know who bought a WiFi enabled smartphone and they only got a voice plan, then used the WiFi for internet connectivity, though these are people who are in WiFi areas all day.
     
  12. brandon6684 Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    #13
    I'm assuming they at least have some sort of e-mail plan? That's the real bread and butter of the blackberry. Web browsing is just extra.
     
  13. otis123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    #14
    nope, they use them as just phones, it really baffles me because they are the most technologically challenged people i know.
     
  14. brandon6684 Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    #15
    That is strange. I know a few people who only use their blackberries for e-mail, but no web browsing or even voice, but just as a phone? Very odd.
     
  15. kevinwiz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Location:
    socal
    #16
    all the other smart phones are less than $500.
    regardless, i'm buying one
     
  16. TonyBaloney macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    #17
    wifi only?

    i dont understand. What's wrong with just using wifi only like your house or some free public wifis instead of edge and not get a data plan??
     
  17. earnjam macrumors 6502a

    earnjam

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #18
    Nothing is wrong with it if that is what you want to do.

    But if you're at your house, why not use your computer for internet/email? If you're going somewhere that has wireless...why not bring a laptop?

    The beauty of a data plan is that it works anywhere (theoretically). The beauty of having wireless in the phone is that when you are in areas with wireless...it will be a lot faster than running over EDGE.
     
  18. Island Dog macrumors 6502a

    Island Dog

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Location:
    St. Cloud, FL.
    #19
    Because AT&T won't get the ridiculous $40 they are supposedly charging.
     
  19. feelthefire macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    #20
    The CEO of AT&T announced I believe it was last week that they will be requiring a data plan. The cheapest one ATT offers right now is $20 for the blackberry. it's really not all that painful. If you can afford the phone, you can afford to shell out for the data plan.

    And yes, the comparable smartphones like the 8525 do require a data plan. Go to a store and try to get them to give you one without it. It won't happen. They require unlimited data on those phones.
     
  20. nyctravis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #21
    data plans

    I have a feeling we will be seeing bundled package offerings that include both voice, data, and messaging options. The Apple press release at http://www.apple.com/pr/library/2007/01/09iphone.html says

    "Apple and Cingular will announce service plans for iPhone before it begins shipping in June"

    with keywords being 'before it begins shipping' and that they will 'announce service plans,' indicating (to me) that there will be new plans not currently available from at&t. Simplicity is one of the hallmarks of this device, so I wouldn't be suprised if they carried that over into the option of bundled packages that included voice/data/messaging.
     
  21. Sp71Supra macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #22
    You will not be required to purchase a data plan. I have my Nokia E62 without a data plan, just because I bought it used off a friend 2 weeks ago when my Gazr died. I called Cingular and they told me that the data plan will be optional and it does not lock in your contract... so you can get the data plan the 1st month then cancel it the 2nd month if you do not use it or want it, etc... People say why wouldnt you get it? Well everyday you are around Wi-Fi weather at work, home, or school... you can use all of the features for free. I think the only plans requiring data plan would be a special optional plan for the iphone where it would be bundled all together, etc...
     
  22. nyctravis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #23

    I agree-I don't think a bundled plan will be required, just that it will be an option that they'll market as part of being both unique to the iphone and simplistic. But I doubt you'll be forced for a data plan....hopefully they'll announce plans soon. I wonder why they are waiting so long just to announce plans!
     
  23. AtlantaGuy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #24
    Wi-Fi weather reporter: "Today we will have partly connected skies with scattered outages and periods of locally heavy cursing... "
     
  24. earnjam macrumors 6502a

    earnjam

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #25
    what is that even supposed to mean?
     

Share This Page