iPhone dead

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by johnny21, Sep 29, 2007.

  1. johnny21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    #1
    my iphone was working then went dead, tried to reboot pressing sleep and holding button , also tried to connect to computer but itunes does not see it.
    tried to reinstall itunes still no joy
     
  2. carfac macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #2
    ANy unlocks or hacks?

    If not, take it to the Apple Store
     
  3. johnny21 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    #3
    iphone dead

    I unlocked the iphone and it has been working .I connected it to independence but would not connect then one hour later it went dead
     
  4. adamget macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Location:
    North England
    #4
    Oops

    Oops!
     
  5. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #5
    Sorry man... from what has been going down lately, you may have an iBrick.

    Im not picking on YOU specifically. But I find it funny that some are unlocking the phone to use on T-Mobile in the US. ATT and T-Mobile use the SAME GSM network. So no service is better than any other.

    If you want the iPhone, sign a contract and everything is covered. If not, be prepared to have it brick on you.

    ----

    Have you tried charging it? The phone does not die unless its TOTALLY broke, like dropped.... But if the battery goes dead, charge it. Its WILL NOT turn on for some time. Its takes a bit to charge to get the thing to even say its charging - eventually you can turn it on.

    Some people seem to have left it playing, then say it down. Its drains out completely.
     
  6. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #6
    That is not true I was a tmobile subscriber and I had absolutely pathetic service in my area. Whenever I went into any building I would have no service. I switched to AT&T for the iPhone and the service has been amazing. dont go out of signal anymore no matter where I am. Many people get better service with tmobile in their area so its not like if both of them are gsm so the service is going to be the same.
     
  7. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #7
    They use the same network technology- GSM, not the same network infrastructure.
     
  8. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #8
    Um, wrong. I used to work for Cingular and helped with the GSM roll-out and setup. I am pretty well versed and believe me, I know what I am talking about!

    The VAST majority of GSM networks are shared between many carriers. We hear of T-Mobile and ATT (Cingular) but there are many other smaller ones like Cell One. Anyway, most of the GSM network is owned by Alltel. Oddly they do not sell GSM to their own subscribers. But Alltel does own the bulk of GSM networks in the US, especially in the central areas, less so on the west coast.

    As part of the call codes setup, any part of the network can have a carrier code assigned. If the carrier thinks its a good idea to have service in an area, they pay for that tower signal lease and they lease the same towers to anyone they want for a flat rate. If a carrier does not have customers in an area and feel no demand to provide "access" they pay for the usual roaming package where Alltel bills (a premium) to the carrier per minute or connect and the carrier absorbs or passes the buck onto the customer.

    So sometimes is cheaper in an area to not be under tower lease contract. Or in metro areas, its cheaper to setup contract.

    It almost comes down to simple coding and a signing of a contract for a carrier to expand the network now days.

    By nature your phone want to avoid an "off network" call code so it latches onto contract towers as often as it can. This can cause random signal dips and peaks on the fringes of "contract" towers and non-contract tower. The signal is even, but the phone wants the contract towers.

    You can add the off network code to you phone. Instead of just showing ATT all the time (or in the case of the iPhone, any carrier hacked logo you make) it will show "Off Network...".

    Think of Alltel as the old WorldCom or Ameritech where they provide the backbone but carriers such as Road Runner and you local dial-up ISPs use it. Its no different and very common, always has been.
     
  9. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #9
    The only way this would be a good test is if everyone owned the EXACT same phone and everyone is in an in-network situation. Read what I just posted above this.

    People usually get what they pay for. Free phone = free dropped calls where a better phone can signal hop better and has a better modem.
     

Share This Page