iphone development: a newbie's inquiry

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by vinchizel, Mar 26, 2009.

1. vinchizel macrumors newbie

Hi everyone. I am very interested in developing apps for the iphone because it looks like an interesting hobby. but there's is one major problem; I have absolutely no prior knowledge to ANY type of program development. I am a complete newbie. I don't know any of the programming "lingo". And from what I have researched, this isn't going to be a cake walk for me. but I am determined to learn.

So my main question is WHERE DO I START? I have read several advices about starting with learning Objective C. Now, like I said, I don't even know what Objective C is. So can anyone give me tips on where to begin and how long would it take for me to understand atleast the majority of what it takes to begin developing apps??? you can tell me your honest opinion about how you think it's pointless for me to try because its too hard. so yeah, thank you all for your advice and your opinions.

2. PoitNarf macrumors 65816

PoitNarf

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0672325861

I just ordered that book based upon recommendations from others here, looks like a good start. Don't assume that this stuff is impossible, because then you've already surrendered to it. Once you learn the basics of programming most of the other stuff starts falling into place. As long as you make the time investment and are truly willing to learn then you'll be surprised how much and how quickly you will learn. The iPhone programming forum here at macrumors also seems to have lots of useful info: http://forums.macrumors.com/forumdisplay.php?f=135

3. Mikey B macrumors 65816

Mikey B

The book that PointNarf recommended is definitely the place to start learning about Objective-C, the language used to program the iPhone.

Also, if you are in the developer program, Apple has tons of great documentation about coding for the iPhone, including a couple of primers for Obj-C.