iPhone Does Not Display Names On Dialed Calls

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by EgbertAttrick, Aug 19, 2009.

  1. EgbertAttrick macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #1
    GRRRRR!

    When I dial a number on the keypad, the contact name of the person I am calling should come up when I press the last digit of their number. Now, though, I have the dial the area code for the contact confirmation to appear. My friend has the same iPhone and it confirms the name under the number even without an area code.

    Let me show you:
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    It should have the name of the business on both!

    Um... Another issue I just noticed... Under SETTINGS>PHONE>MY NUMBER, how do I remove my number? When I delete the number, the SAVE button becomes greyed out?

    I've had my 3G for over a year, but all of these problems are just starting. ACK.
     
  2. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #2
    I don't know what could be causing it. My 3GS doesn't have the dialing issue. Is the number you are dialing in the same area code as your phone? It will only give the name for numbers in the same area code. Also, if you've deleted or changed your area code under "my number," maybe it doesn't know what area code to check in Contacts...
     
  3. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #3
    Wow, I didn't know AT&T still had markets that didn't require 10-digit dialing.

    Where I live, AT&T is the only carrier where the area code is required for all calls (even local), otherwise you get the "your call cannot be completed" message.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    It's been a while since I tried one, but I actually thought all cell phones worked this way (I've only used Sprint previously and now T-Mobile).

    EDIT: Tried it again -- I don't think T-Mobile accepts 7-digit calling here at least...

    That's interesting. Are the numbers programmed in your cell phone using 10 digits or 7?
     
  5. outphase macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #5
    On my 3.1b3 3GS, dialing the number without an area code gives me the contact name. I am roaming in a multi-area code city from another multi-area code city. All of my numbers are stored as 10 digits as well.
     
  6. FreeState macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    Same here. I typed in my home phone number without the area code and it came up with my name and my partners name under the number. So if its a problem with 3.0 it is fixed in 3.1 already:)

    Note if you put a number outside the local area code it wont bring up a name - its looking for a local number in your phone book, based on your cell phones tower connections area code, and wont find it.
     
  7. EgbertAttrick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #7
    Hmmm. You guys have me thinking.... I think it's related to issue number 2. I only recently input my number to the iPhone, and that might be when this happened.

    Does anyone know how to delete MY NUMBER from the iPhone?
     
  8. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #8
    I can dial the 7-digit number for local calls on AT&T in Connecticut on my iPhone. I don't know if that's because the number is in my Address Book and it adds the area code before dialing or what. I don't think I ever tried it on my Samsung.

    Update: just tried dialing 7 digits for a local number not in my Address Book and had no problems.

    EgbertAttrick: my iPhone came from the AT&T store with my cell number in the "My Number" field. Didn't yours? Or did you change it to another number (and, if so, was it in the same area code)?
     
  9. outphase macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #9
    That sounds like it. I tried another number which didn't give me a contact name.

    edit: Based on a google search, to remove your number, you have to remove the sim.
     
  10. EgbertAttrick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #10
    Can't reset my number...

    But even so, these numbers are in my area code, my number shares said area code, and it didn't used to be this way.

    Maybe it shouldn't be, but it's actually really really frustrating.

    I reset my iPhone, but I still have the same problem...
     

Share This Page