iPhone doesn't see 5ghz band but iPad does

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mrcalabash, Sep 23, 2011.

  1. mrcalabash macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    #1
    Just installed a dual band router (Asus rt n56u).

    my iPad 2 sees and connects to both the 2.4 and 5 ghz bands.

    But my iphone 4 sees only the 2.4 ghz band.

    I tried connecting with the iphone manually, but no dice.

    Is this true? iPad able to connect to both bands, but not iPhone?
     
  2. sNuRkLe macrumors newbie

    sNuRkLe

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    UK
  3. mrcalabash thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    #3
    thanks. I thought the ipad and iphone had the same radios. I guess not, unless this is a software difference.
     
  4. Muad'Dib macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
  5. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #5
    5GHz is better (less interference), but 5GHz has a weaker signal and doesn't travel as far as 2.4GHz.

    So they both have pros and cons.
     
  6. Muad'Dib macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #6
    I think I've read that 5GHz is ONLY better if you have interference issues w/ 2.4GHz...right?
     
  7. sNuRkLe macrumors newbie

    sNuRkLe

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    UK
  8. dccorona macrumors 68020

    dccorona

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #8
    my experience with 5ghz in a small college house (with probably a dozen at least other networks in range) was that 5ghz was strong enough to blanket the house, and performed better because NONE of the neighbors were on 5ghz bands. However, since my xbox 360S has built in wifi that doesnt support the 5ghz band, it was a no go

    I ended up forcing my router onto the channel used by the weaker networks, and its worked fine ever since.

    5ghz really won't have any advantages in the average home, unless for some reason your cordless phones are 2.4ghz (id suggest buying dect 6.0 phones in that case). If you do have interference problems, don't let the router automatically select its channel, force it onto something your neighbors arent using
     

Share This Page