iPhone EDGE Internet

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Doju, Sep 6, 2008.

  1. Doju macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #1
    I have 5 bars everywhere at the school I go to but no Edge or 3G why is this?Do I have to enabl something in settings?
     
  2. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #2
    Is it picking up a wifi that you aren't authorized to be on?
     
  3. Doju thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #3
    Well, yes, the school's WiFi requires a password, hence I'm unable to use it.

    (No WiFi symbol or anything.)
     
  4. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    the type of signal you get depends on what is broadcast around you

    just because you have 5 bars of signal does not mean that 3g or edge is availale
     
  5. Doju thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
  6. okrelayer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #6
    turn airport on and off. if that doesnt work, manually turn off and turn back on the phone.

    that COULD help
     
  7. iCantwait macrumors 65816

    iCantwait

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    try the schoold initials ie( bgs for ballarat grammar school) and admin either before it or after

    my school wifi password is adminbgs :D
     
  8. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #8
    Try turning off wifi capabilities so it will be forced to work on the cell network.
     

Share This Page