Iphone email with outlook exchange

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Mark G, Apr 21, 2008.

  1. Mark G macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #1
    Help!

    I came from a Blackberry, and my entire company users Blackberry's. We use Outlook exchange. When I first got my Iphone, I set up my email account using att.yahoo as my smtp (I have ATT. Yahoo DSL at home). However, it was sometimes taking several hours to send an email. For some reason, I am unable to use my company server as a smtp. Then I started using gmail as my smtp, and I developed 2 new problems. 1) Even though I was sending an email from the inbox of my company email account on the iphone, the recipient saw it as from gmail, and so when they replied, the reply went to my gmail and not my work account. 2)I used to be able to delete emails on the iphone, and they would get deleted from the server, and also drop emails in folders on the iphone, and they would get moved to the folder on the server, but now I can't do that anymore. I know it can be done, because I used to do it, but no one at apple can figure out how to get me back to that.

    Can anyone help?
     
  2. operator207 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #2
    You probably used imap. Make sure imap at work is still turned on in exchange.
     
  3. Mark G thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #3
    I did use IMAP. My company guy who runs our server told me to. I'm pretty sure that IMAP is turned on with the exchange, but I'll check with him. Any other thoughts?
     
  4. operator207 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #4
    Are you getting any errors when it checks that server? Also ask the admin to check the logs. If IMAP is turned on, the only thing stopping you is authentication or maybe security. Such as a cert.
     
  5. Mark G thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #5
    No errors.

    Is it your understanding that I SHOULD be able to delete emails off the server from the iphone, and place emails in folders?

    Apple swear that I shouldn't be able to do it, EXCEPT that I did it before!
     
  6. operator207 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #6
    I use IMAP via my own server (as in I built it, admin it etc). Specifically Courier-imap.

    I connect to it via my iphone all the time (specifically every 15 minutes). I move things I want to keep into a saved folder. I get spam, I move them into the spam folder. I delete things, they go into the trash.

    All of this is verified by using a second email client, and even directly by sshing in, and viewing the file system manually. I verified using both, to make sure it was somewhat adhering to the IMAP standards, and not just pushing crap around, that other clients would not notice.


    For all intents and purposes, it should also work with Exchange's IMAP implementation. Unless they just castrated it in an update that your admin did between the time you used it successfully, and now.

    I will in no way tell your admin how to do his job, as I would not like that done to me, but here is a "how to" on imap and the iphone specifically. This is more the admin how to not really for the end user.

    Also, I was not aware of this, but Exchange 2003 by default turns off imap.

    http://www.azaleos.com/blog/index.php?q=node/44


    Also try to telnet to your exchange server on port 143:

    >telnet exchange.server.tld 143

    You should get something like this:
    Code:
    >telnet exchange.server.tld 143
    Trying xx.xx.xx.xx...
    Connected to exchange.server.tld.
    Escape character is '^]'.
    * OK Microsoft Exchange Server 2003 IMAP4rev1 server version 6.5.7638.1 (exchange.SERVER.TLD) ready.
    
    You can log out by typing 'zz logout'.

    If you do not get a response, your not getting to the server.
     
  7. Mark G thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #7
    Thanks for this. I'll pass it on to my IT guy, but the company aren't really willing to make changes for the one Iphone user when they have 200 plus blackberry users that have no problems.

    But here's the thing. It worked fine, until the very moment that apple had me remove the account from my iphone and then add a new account with a different smtp. It seems to me highly coincidental that my company just happened to lose imap abilities at the exact same moment as apple had me make changes to my phone!
     
  8. operator207 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #8
    I agree.

    I see that when you setup email, you have imap, pop and exchange.

    Are you using imap or exchange when you setup the account?

    The exchange is really just imap for exchange.

    Also, did you try the telnet test? did it output something like I did?

    For you to be able to use your iphone to check imap, you MUST get a similar response to what I posted.
     
  9. Mark G thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #9
    Ha! You are talking to a braindead fool. I have no idea how to telnet! But I really need help!!!!
     
  10. Mark G thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #10
    And to answer your earlier question, when I set up the email account on the iphone, I set it up as an imap account.
     
  11. operator207 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #11
    Do this.

    Open your hard drive
    Open Applications
    Open Utilities
    Open Terminal

    Then type 'telnet exchange.server.tld 143'
    Replacing exchange.server.tld with your exchange server. Hit return.
    Copy what comes after that and post it back here.

    To close the connection type 'zz logout' Hit return.

    I want to make sure imap is functional on your exchange server. Please remove anything that would say what your server name is when you post back. I do not want to know what it is, and you do not want to necessarily broadcast what it is publicly.

    If that works, delete your email account in the iphone, and retype it in. Thats all I can think of at the moment. Its been a long day.
     
  12. Mark G thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #12
    Ok, this is going to prove to you how brain dead I am.

    I'm using Windows Vista, and I cannot find Terminal.

    Am I beyond help?
     
  13. operator207 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #13
    Click the button that used to be the start button.
    Click 'Run'.

    Do this:

    Then type 'telnet exchange.server.tld 143'
    Replacing exchange.server.tld with your exchange server. Hit return.
    Copy what comes after that and post it back here.

    To close the connection type 'zz logout' Hit return.


    When you get that information, and copy it, you can just close the window.
     

Share This Page