iphone + exchange server, what ports?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by vivithemage, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. vivithemage macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #1
    What ports should we configure in our ISA? Whhen we open up all ports on the ISA, everything works great, battery life is amazing.

    When we start locking it down, and only allow 443, and a few other ports, battery life is drained at about 8% per hour, so we think the iphone's trying to connect to another port, just not sure what.

    Anyone know what ports they have open on their routers/ISA?
     
  2. Interpolation macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #2
    443 is the only port I have open on my firewall and it works fine.

    But I have my iphone going via the external ip address for both wifi and 3G.
     
  3. vivithemage thread starter macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #3
    This is when our phone is on 3G, not on wifi or anything.

    It's gotta be connecting on another port, we just don't know what. Anyone do this with an ISA?
     
  4. Flhusky macrumors 6502a

    Flhusky

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    How are your clients accessing their exchange accts? pop3? imap? smtp? web only?
    What type of authentication are you requiring of the clients?

    POP3 - port 110
    IMAP - port 143
    SMTP - port 25
    HTTP - port 80
    Secure SMTP (SSMTP) - port 465
    Secure IMAP (IMAP4-SSL) - port 585
    IMAP4 over SSL (IMAPS) - port 993
    Secure POP3 (SSL-POP) - port 995

    Did you read :apple: s docs? Sounds like you may have.
    Did you check out some the information at: iPhone exchange
     
  5. vivithemage thread starter macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #5
    Nice husky, i've got one too :).

    But, we are using activesync on the iphone.
     
  6. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    It will only be using port 443.

    If you want to check simply enable logging on your ISA, filter for your iPhone's public IP address and see what it is doing.
     
  7. vivithemage thread starter macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #7
    Yeah, everything I read is port 443, nothing else.

    But can anyone explain to me, before I do the logging, why the battery drains so quickly when we lock down and only allow 443? And when we open up the ISA, it's happy as can be, and we get great battery life.
     
  8. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    How long did you conduct your tests over?

    Was the phone usage the same every time?

    Where the conditions similar every time?
     
  9. vivithemage thread starter macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #9
    Yes, we've tried a few phones as well. We have been testing for about a week now.

    If we open up the firewall, battery drain is normal, nothing huge. Once we lock it down, and only allow specified ports, it drains the batteries quick.
     
  10. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I can only suggest that you do some logging on your firewall to find out if the iPhone is hitting it on any other ports. It shouldn't be though.

    What other services are you using on your iPhones?
     
  11. vivithemage thread starter macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #11
    Nothing notable. But every time we tested, they all had the same configurations.
     

Share This Page