iPhone - Forget this network?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by duncanapple, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. duncanapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #1
    Hi all - I have a nitty gritty question about the iPhone. I often encounter networks that are password protected that I dont have access too. Often this happens at places I frequent (one of which being my works wireless network, which my phone cant get on, or a restraunt near a network that requires you to pay). Its annoying to constantly be asked if you want to join any of the networks and then having to click cancel when you cant join them. I *thought* I remembered in the settings being able highlight the specific network and select "forget this network" but I dont see that option anymore. Are there only certain scenarios where you are able to tell the phone to "forget" a particular network and stop asking if it wants to join?

    Thanks in advance for any help you can offer - Chris
     
  2. Scottyk9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    I think the "forget network" is to prevent automatically connecting to networks that you have previously (and successfully) connected to.

    Would the "ask to join networks" preference help with this?
     
  3. solidgoldmini macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    In a house. On a street. In a city.
    #3
    'Forget this network' is available when you're already connected and you go to the settings screen for info on the network. You want the 'Ask to Join Networks' options turned off.
     
  4. duncanapple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #4
    Thanks

    Thanks for the replies -

    So if I turn off the ask to join network function, will it just automatically join any network that is open? What if the network requires a password, do you manually have to go in?

    Thanks again - Chris
     
  5. Chow7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #5
    it will not auto join any open network. What I would do is go to your settings and erase your network settings. Now just join the networks you know that work.
     

Share This Page