iPhone forgets my passcode continually

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by thaliagoo, May 13, 2009.

  1. thaliagoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    #1
    I have a 5 digit passcode since I have an exchange email account. This is fine except if I ever enter an incorrect code or if I accidentally push emergency call in the middle of entering passcode- even once- any additional tries will tell me "incorrect passcode" even when I know I punched in the right code. I will then have to reset my phone and enter my passcode again and it works.

    It's annoying because sometimes I have to reset my phone a few times a day because I entered wrong codes. Is there anything I can do to prevent this error by my iphone?
     
  2. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #2
    Enter the correct password the first time.

    But... If you can't do this, try doing a restore as a NEW iPhone. If you don't know how to do it it's pretty easy.

    - Hook up to iTunes and select to restore your iPhone.
    - It will ask "Restore from backup" or "Setup as new iPhone"

    The reason you want to restore as a new iPhone is because if you're restoring from backup you're just taking the problem off then putting it back on.

    Good luck.
     
  3. thaliagoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    #3
    It doesn't bother me that much for me to restore it. I've got too much stuff in there. I did find a loophole tho: I can make it ask me to enter a code after 5 or 15 min instead of "immediately" thus I will be asked for my code less often and therefore decrease my chances of error in punching the wrong code. I always found it annoying that I had to enter my code just so I can skip a song in iPod or Pandora so this will do well for now. And this error happened on the day I got my phone so I don't know if restoring will work.
     
  4. iansilv macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #4
    Dude- Your iPhone says you are a forgetful "idiot"- his words not mine. He's pissed, because you are blaming him for forgetting it. He says that because you're a human and he's a phone he can't advocate for himself, but he says YOU are the one forgetting the pin. His hands are tied- he's a phone. He also says to lay off the weed, at least during the week- it's killing your memory- including your ability to remember 5 digit numbers.

    He was pretty convinced you are the one forgetting the pin, not him. Don't shoot the messenger!
     
  5. Unspoken Demise macrumors 68040

    Unspoken Demise

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    >9,000
    #5
    While your post gave me a good LOL, and it seemed like a pretty good anti-drug commercial concept, I don't think he is saying he forgot it a bunch of times, he is saying that if on the 1st try of entering his passcode, he presses the wrong button, even if on the 2nd or 3rd try he enters it perfectly, it wont allow him access. I THINK he is saying that there isnt an issue if he inputs the code correctly the 1st time the iPhone prompts him.
     
  6. iansilv macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #6
    LOL! OK- show some kid trying to unlock his iPhone and forgetting the passcode. That would be funny!
     
  7. Unspoken Demise macrumors 68040

    Unspoken Demise

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    >9,000
    #7
    And his friend comes up to him.

    "I'm worried about you man, ever since you started doing drugs, you cant use your iPhone. You can't even text me man. You never return my calls."

    Using My iPhone.
    My Anti Drug
     
  8. Hbcyclone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #8
    I have ran into the same problem 2-3 weeks ago. Have been using the same 5 digits code since 1986 so it's unlikely that I forgot it or entering it wrong.

    However I have been using iPhone with Exchange for about 9 months and this only happened to me one time.

    After 4-5 tries, I just turned the phone off wait 30 sec turn it back on entered the code - I got in no question ask. :confused::confused::confused:
     
  9. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #9
    Just to say, you can set your phone to bring up the iPod controls on the lockscreen by double-tapping the home button. Go to "Settings -> General -> Home Button", make sure "iPod Controls" is "On"
     

Share This Page