Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SaladFork

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 30, 2008
I've been using my iPhone for no problem for the past three months, but this morning I accidentally disconnected it while running a backup. The iPhone works fine, but now when I plug it into iTunes it shows me as having 13gb of 'Other' (orange) instead of properly showing my music/videos (see picture below). Also, it doesn't recognize my music or videos on my device as being mine, both showing up as "No Music".

I didn't know where else to go, and a google search only returned someone on the apple forums telling the person to restore. However, I'm hoping that since mine is jailbroken, there's an alternative method using SSH or something so that I don't have to restore.

I have a first generation 16gb iPhone that's jailbroken, activated, and unlocked. It's currently on the T-Mobile network. SSH is working great, and all my applications are symlinked. I can SSH/sFTP in if needed, I know how to do all that.

Here's a screenshot of iTunes showing me what's on my iPhone:
iphonememoryre9.png

And here's a screenshot of the error I get when I try to sync:
iphonesyncet2.png

If anyone knows a solution to this (or if you know that the only way to fix this is to restore), please do let me know.

Thanks in advance!

~Salad

wackymacky

macrumors 68000
Sep 20, 2007
38°39′20″N 27°13′10″W
suspect that you have corrupted the data on the flash memory while disconnecting whilst it was written too. Much like removing a USB flash drive without un-mounting it first.

It’s not really a matter of the phone being jail-broken or not but the way the memory works.

I suspect strongly you will have to restore the phone.

alexuser

macrumors newbie
Jul 1, 2008