Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

honeytoast

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 15, 2004
bay area, CA
I was rearranging apps on my iPhone today and thought we should be able to do it within iTunes. I'm not very good with Photoshop so i don't have a mockup. If someone could make one we should submit it to Apple.

Basically you could have a button from your applications screen in iTunes that would show the (9) home screens and let you drag and drop apps with the mouse to rearrange them. The next time you sync it would copy it on your iPhone.

img0001gw4.png

What do guys think?

honeytoast

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 15, 2004
bay area, CA
I just think it would be much faster than doing it on the iPhone. I'd imagine that I'll be checking the store for new apps once a week and downloading a few at a time. It would be nice to arrange them in iTunes, sync my iPhone and have them appear where I put them.

Ensoniq

macrumors regular
Jul 16, 2002
Bronx, NY
I absolutely agree there is a need for it.

If you want to keep your apps alphabetized, or in groups, or however you want, using your finger to drag them from screen 2 to screen 9 is just ridiculous.

A visual editor would make it much easier...especially as the # of apps people have on their phones grows. This is an excellent idea for an upcoming iTunes upgrade.

Macjames

macrumors 6502a
Dec 12, 2007
Yorkshire, England
I apologize, i should not have been so quick to dismiss your idea now i can actually see some benefit in it.

I dont have photoshop but heres a keynote mockup of what i would like to see.

Attachments

• Picture 3.png
    Picture 3.png
    174.9 KB · Views: 597

tico24

macrumors 6502
Jun 17, 2007
Eastleigh, UK
I don't see the point in that either. What I would like to have is the option to remove the contacts app and other crap that I just don't want. (I'm 22...I don't care about stocks).

iAlan

macrumors 65816