iPhone in Australia: Which carrier do you use?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by The Truth, Dec 6, 2007.

  1. The Truth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    at my wits end (in Australia)
    #1
    I was just wondering, which carrier have Australians found the most success with as far as data/internet is concerned.
     
  2. thats nice macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    #2
    No carries are any good for use with the iPhone regarding the use of edge (internet). If you want to use the internet on the iPhone i suggest you move to America and use the AT&T unlimited data plan. Optus is currently charging me $30 a month for 100mb and $70 or so for my cap. It's alright, you just cant use youtube because you'll go over the limit and get raped with their prices per kb.
     
  3. The Truth thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    at my wits end (in Australia)
    #3
    Yeah, nobody here offers unlimited data. Has anyone done any research as to the best deals available?
     
  4. m242 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #4
    I am on Telstra, $29 per month for 80MB data
    If you have wifi at home/work it is enough. You can check your usage in settings>usage
     
  5. rotur macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide
    #5
    Optus...for what it's worth

    I'm on Optus as well and use the Wifi settings as I was unaware that the phone was set to default to edge when I was out of Wifi range. I typically would end up paying $80-90 a month on a $49 cap plan because of edge. I have now switched it off and will see what that does to my cap for the next month. BUT as my Phone is ddead, it may be a moot point. 'The Truth'...did you sort your problem out with yours 'being dead'?

    Roman
     
  6. TurboSC macrumors 65816

    TurboSC

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Has Apple announced when they're bringing the phone to Australia at all? :/
     
  7. SirCrumpet macrumors regular

    SirCrumpet

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #7
    "2008"

    Don't hold your breath.
     
  8. doobi18 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #8
    i have just ordered an iphone, and i plan to put it on telstra, with whom i already have a plan (that is of course if 1.1.2 is unlocked enabling me to actually use it as a phone).



    however after looking at the ridiculous pricings for data giving you a few megabytes, i made the easy decision to avoid edge and just use internet under wifi.



    aussie telcos have obviously not considered data packages as mainstream internet access (as per iphone). i am liable to use well in excess of 1gb usage on a good day on my mac, so you can only guess how far 80mb would go in a month :confused:


    doobs
     
  9. zetsurin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #9
    As and Aussie who has been living in the UK for 2+ years, I have to say I am stunned to see how little mobile data has progressed in Aus. It's looking like the laughing stock. I pay £7.50 a month for prepay data that's good for around 200MB here in London. Now that isn't earth shatteringly good, but it sure beats the crap out of anything I can get in Aus.

    When I first arrived in London, I was shocked about how expensive the place is, but now it's looking like Aus aint looking particularly good on that front!!
     
  10. tomass macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #10
    I'm using optus $50 blackberry unlimited plan. I'm not sure whether you can sign up to this without linking it to a BB, as i just used the same settings in the iPhone to my BB and gprs works fine.

    slow, but fine.

    BTW: telstra is the only company that offers EDGE in Australia, the rest offer the slower gprs.

    Also, if you cant get on the Optus BB unlimited plan, which is a shame as it's pretty much the only unlimited plan i could find, try the Virgin 300mb cap which is only $10 per month.
     

Share This Page