Iphone in Germany/Belgium/France...

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by whyrichard, May 26, 2011.

  1. whyrichard macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #1
    Hello,

    I'll be traveling soon through Germany, Belgium, and France. I am wondering what the procedure was with the iphone in these parts...

    Can I get a SIM prepaid and have it work throughout those countries?

    Should I just turn off all cellular and use wifi?

    What are your suggestions?

    thanks,
    r.
     
  2. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #2
    are you unlocked? if yes the you would just have to do your research if those sims work on the iphone

    if your not unlocked you would be wise to put the phone in airplane mode then turn wifi on and use it like an ipod touch or your bill might make you crap
     
  3. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #3
    I am unlocked.

    what do I search for to do research on which sim to get?

    What do i ask for when I am asking around (probably at the german airport?)

    thanks!

    r.
     
  4. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #4
    hmmm...

    i just unlocked using cydia, and after restarting the phone just says "searching"... i'm still in the states and it won't see att any more!

    r.
     
  5. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #5

    what baseband and firmware are you on?

    its found in settings/general/about
     

Share This Page