iPhone ipod content partial delete without sync??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ashley1496, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. ashley1496 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #1
    Ok, so a very strange situation happened this morning and I was wondering if anyone else had experienced this.

    Last night I downloaded from my itunes app on my iphone, several free promo videos about new fall TV shows and one full length TV show. I had more than 8 gigs of space left available on my iPhone (obviously ample).
    I fell asleep before the downloads finished. When I woke up I went to plug in my iPhone to my stereo to listen to music while getting ready for work. However it suddenly stated I had "no content" in my iPod library on my iPhone. Upon sifting through I noticed that all those 5 min videos and one TV show were there, along with about 50 other songs I purchased a couple days ago that I haven't transferred to my computer yet (thank god).
    So...my question is...how is this possible? I've never heard you could delete content from an iPhone (besides videos which don't appear anymore but still seem to be included on taken space) without sync or without the "Erase all content and settings" feature. My contacts, call log, email accounts, apps...everything else is still there.
    I think it's so strange that all my purchased content stayed but all the rest of my music, including playlists, wiped. I did try to turn it off and on...and do the restore by pushing in the sleep/awake and bottom button till the apple logo appears, and content still didn't appear.
    When I plugged it into itunes, the bar that shows how much content is on my phone is still as full as it would be as if my content is still there!
    Don't know if it's important but I have a 3G running all current software and it's not like jailbroken or anything...Just normal iPhone...

    Anyone ever seen anything like this??
     
  2. mcdj macrumors G3

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    sounds like maybe you have 2 computers. if you have a desktop mac and a laptop for instance, you can only sync to one of them at a time. if you sync to computer A, it will delete the content synced from computer B and replace it with the content from A.

    or maybe you have 2 itunes accounts?
     

Share This Page