iPhone iPod?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by magicjames92, Aug 2, 2007.

  1. magicjames92 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    #1
    I was wondering what the final say is about buying an iphone and not paying for a contract, just use wifi and ipod features.
     
  2. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    I'd wait and see what the next gen iPod is like.
     
  3. magicjames92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    #3
    i would but i hate waiting. Think it'll be out by the end of the month? think itll have a touch screen? both of those sound like a no at the moment but the iphone has a camera and wifi which is cool either way id like my original question answered still
     
  4. Canuck4 macrumors 6502a

    Canuck4

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #4
    Not a bad idea if you dont want to use it as a phone and you can catch wifi to go online instead of carrying a laptop around.
     
  5. magicjames92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    #5
    so does anyone know if it will work? can i still get updates and stuff if i do it?
     
  6. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #6
    Yes. It works. I did it via "iActivator". After that, I restored it then bypassed it by temporarily putting in my husband's iPhone SIM. The update didn't effect this. Check Hackint0sh.
     
  7. magicjames92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    #7
    looks a bit complicated. I was wondering if you could activate it, then cancel immediatley, so you dont have to pay (trial) then have it work as an ipod etc and still get updates

    i heard taking out the sim card works? can anyone confirm this
     
  8. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #8
    From one experience, it has to have been a previously activated iP for you to be able to take the SIM out and still use it. I noticed this when I had mine swapped out, the guy put the new phone's SIM in my old unit and it went to the home screen. Didn't test it to see which features worked, but it was def the home screen.
     
  9. magicjames92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    #9
    i still need a solid answer(s) before i drop 5,6 hundred bucks

    bump
     
  10. Canuck4 macrumors 6502a

    Canuck4

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #10
    Yes, its possible.
    Check out hacktheiphone.com
     
  11. magicjames92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    #11
    hm. looks like it could change with itunes updates. maybei should just wait for the next ipods. (crosses fingers for august 7)
     

Share This Page