iPhone Jailbroken Applecare Plan How To?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ucfgnome, Dec 28, 2010.

1. ucfgnome macrumors newbie

Hi - I know jailbreaking voids the warranty on the iPhone and I know restoring it will set it back to factory.

I have a jailbroken iPhone 3GS that I received after trading a N900.

There is a one month Applecare warranty left on this Phone.

My question is if I purchase a Applecare box though the Apple site or eBay, will I be able to register and extend the warranty of this phone?

If so, how does this work, I've never done it before, will the Phone need to be on the AT&T network in order for this to complete? I have it on T-Mobile right now.

I wasn't sure if I need to connect the Phone and do something, never purchased Applecare before.

Plus when registering for it, can I just place my contact details on the registration.

Thanks!

2. ucfgnome, Dec 28, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2010

ucfgnome thread starter macrumors newbie

Ok so I tried to do it via Apples site and got this message:

We're sorry, but service is not available in this location.

I am guessing the iPhone was bought in a different country? Any way to get around this to buy extended coverage?

Also, if I take my iPhone with its current Apple Care date of Jan 31, 2011, will it be serviceable?

Thanks!

3. ucfgnome thread starter macrumors newbie

Ok this is the strangest thing, if I put in my Orlando addresses under billing it says"

We're sorry, but service is not available in this location.

But if I put a random New York address, it lets me continue to the credit card page.

4. mrat93 macrumors 65816

mrat93

I'm not exactly sure what you're trying todo, but Iam 99% sure that you cannot buy a SECOND AppleCare plan to extend the warranty for another two years.

5. ucfgnome thread starter macrumors newbie