iPhone just shutting off Hard reset combo required to bring back up.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Goodeye, Sep 10, 2009.

  1. Goodeye macrumors 6502a

    Goodeye

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #1
    So I updated to 3.1 had this issue last night after my iphone had been sitting idle. The screen wouldn't come back up even after I had hit the home button clearly it was off but I hadn't turned it off. Held the sleep wake button for 3 seconds nothing (as it normally turns the iPhone on like that with no problem)

    I had to hold the home button and power button for 10-15 seconds (like a hard reset) to get it to come back up.

    I didn't think too much of it because I had just restored (had been jailbroken 3G 8GB) and it had been syncing and updating for awhile.

    But today it did the same thing I had used it slid it into my pocket pulled it back out two minutes later to bring up something on it.

    BOOM again with the whole screen being out. Anyone else having this issue?
     
  2. Goodeye thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Goodeye

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #2
    Not meaning to bump but seriously one view? Am I really the only one having this issue?

    Now Im thinking something is weird with my account or something every post I write is this way.
     
  3. stupidm4n macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #3
    Did you update from jailbroken or did you restore
     
  4. Goodeye thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Goodeye

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #4
    Restore, per what everyone on here said to do.

    I saw two people commented on one of the TheiPhoneBlog.com posts said they had run into the same thing but didn't expound on it.
     
  5. Tomb85 Guest

    Tomb85

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #5
    MATE! I posted this problem a while back, no one could help really. So glad I'm not alone with this one. I have the exact same thing happening. Does it about 3 times a day. Just totally unresponsive. My 3G is out of warranty so apple won't wanna know. Tried restoring. Tried setting up as new phone today, and it did it earlier.

    If you get anywhere with this can you PM me? I'll do the same.

    Never jailbroken. Starting doing it with the betas of 3.1. :(
     
  6. Goodeye thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Goodeye

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #6
    Well seeing as its a normal thing and I have restored and am back at a normal regular non jailbroken iPhone.

    And it's done it a few times already I assume my option is to then make a genius appointment no?

    If so that sucks cause I then gotta make sure I delete all content and settings since from what I heard the geniuses dont always do that.
     
  7. Tomb85 Guest

    Tomb85

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #7
    If it's still under warranty I'd get my arse down to the apple store and getit checked out. If mine was in warranty I would. Gotta wait 6 months for an upgrade now and stuck with a really bloody tempremental phone. :mad:
     
  8. Goodeye thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Goodeye

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #8
    Just made my reservation at my local Apple Store.

    Sucks cause I got an invisible shield it's going to be a PITA to get that replaced those are replaceable if you do a warranty exchange but oh well. I can't have my phone shutting off and me missing calls etc.
     
  9. Tomb85 Guest

    Tomb85

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #9
    Let me know how you get on mate, like if there is anything they do to fix it. Bloody thing!!
     
  10. Goodeye thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Goodeye

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #10
    Im curious though if other people are running into this issue at all?
     
  11. gibbynd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #12
    That happened to me about a couple of hours after the update as well. I had to hold down to reset and it finally reset after about 20 seconds. I have not had a problem since, although I do notice sometimes that the screen is running on night brightness level in a bright room. i have to just click and rehit home and then it is fine.

    I do know that some other posters have been having it shut off multiple times.
     
  12. Goodeye thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Goodeye

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #13
    With so many people having this issue Im wondering if the genius's will even replace it or will they just do it anyways like they do many other issues?
     

Share This Page