iPhone looses Airport Express when playing music

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by b-rad g, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. b-rad g macrumors 6502a

    b-rad g

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #1
    Have an Express joined to my Time Capsule network to play music to. The iPhone hooks up fine in the beginning and plays fine for about 5 minutes, but then it starts cutting out and eventually looses the AirTunes icon. Anyone know why it's loosing the connection?
     
  2. b-rad g thread starter macrumors 6502a

    b-rad g

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
  3. Reefbone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #3
    Did it work flawlessly before or are you just getting it set up? Have you assciated it with iTunes?
     
  4. Silverbird0000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #4
    I have the same set up and the same problem. I hope someone knows. I've been trying to figure this out for months. One interesting thing to note is I moved a few months ago, I had the same set up before and it worked perfectly. Not I have a new internet provider, Primecast, and that is when the problems started. I think it might have to do with my IP address. Before I was on a fixed IP from Comcast, now the IP is no longer fixed. I'm wondering if this is causing the problem.
     
  5. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #5
    What does it loose it on, the floor? 'Cause that's just weird...
     
  6. b-rad g thread starter macrumors 6502a

    b-rad g

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #6
    This is the first time I am using it so it has never been set up before. Not quite sure what you mean by having it associated with iTunes. I looked under the settings for the Express and it has "Allow iTunes AirPlay" or something like that checked on.

    It will connect fine but after about 5-10 minutes it will drop the connection, one time it dropped WiFi altogether and I had to reconnect to my WiFi network.
     
  7. egautreaux macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #7
    mine does the same, just hooked up to the airport express, no time machine involved.
     
  8. b-rad g thread starter macrumors 6502a

    b-rad g

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #8
    Bump......

    Still having this problem. Have done a "Hard Reset" of the Express and still cutting out. Anyone else have suggestions?
     
  9. patp Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #9
    Have you tried removing the time machine from the equation just to eliminate any variables?

    My airport express never drops out ever. I do not use time machine.

    I run airport express, apple tv, several idevices, iTunes in my Pc laptop. Can stream audio, video, control apple tv. It all works and never has any issues.

    I would also consider taking the express to an apple store and see if it's defective. Hardware can fail or be intermittent.
     
  10. b-rad g thread starter macrumors 6502a

    b-rad g

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #10
    Will try this tonight. I'll just set up the Express as a different network and see how it does.

    Does the Apple Store have a hardware test or something they run on it? How would they find out if it is defective?
     
  11. Reefbone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #11
    took me a second... "loses"
     
  12. b-rad g thread starter macrumors 6502a

    b-rad g

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #12
    Fixed!!!!!

    Seems as if I have found my solution to my problem. I used my wife's iphone to stream Pandora to the Express for Airtunes and not one single cutout or loss of signal. So I tried to see all the differences between her phone and mine. First I thought it might be the App itself so I deleted it off my phone and reinstalled. No dice, still cutting out.

    Finally I noticed that her Bluetooth wasn't turned on. I keep mine on since I use it everyday at work. I thought maybe the BT being on but not connected to anything was interfering with Airtunes. SUCCESS!!!! I turned my BT off and have been streaming Pandora through Airtunes for the past 3 hours and no cutouts or loss of connection. It's perfect!:D:D

    Just thought I would give an update to my problem since some others were having the same situation.
     

Share This Page