iPhone memory in iPad?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by mikethebigo, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. mikethebigo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #1
    So here's a funny thought I just had. iPhone 4 comes with the A4 processor and 512 MB RAM, right? What would happen if you disassembled an iPhone 4, took the 2 256 MB memory modules out, and swapped them into the A4 SOC on the iPad? Would you then get a functional 512 MB RAM in the iPad?

    I think someone rich should do it.
     
  2. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #2
    No.
     
  3. mikethebigo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
  4. emaja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    Because the memory is integrated into the iPhone's board and is non-removable.
     
  5. ChrisGonzales90 macrumors 6502a

    ChrisGonzales90

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon USA.
    #5
    Yeah go ahead.
     
  6. kdarling macrumors demi-god

    kdarling

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    First university coding class = 46 years ago
    #6
    If they're on the board, then they're removable with the right equipment.

    But you don't need them. Just get new memory chips :)
     
  7. emaja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #7
    You let me know how that works out for you.:D
     
  8. al256 macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    #8
    To entertain the OP's thoughts, he should read this article: http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-10107580-1.html

    If I remember correctly, the RAM is on the same chip as the CPU. So someone would need to swap the two A4's. You'd get more RAM, hypothetically but it's likely the processor speed would be slower than the iPad's.
     
  9. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #9
    You also would need to be one hell of a good soldering person
     
  10. kdarling macrumors demi-god

    kdarling

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    First university coding class = 46 years ago
    #10
    In the old days, I hacked memory onto devices all the time. Including VMEBus cards. Even designed and added coprocessors to share the bus without the original CPU knowing about it.

    In this case, you could easily wire up extra memory to the address and data buses (I'd probably pick them off near the Flash memory) and tell the OS where it is. (I'm not familiar enough with iOS guts to know details on how you do this... or even if you have to, since some OS's search all space... but I bet the guys who create unlocking code would.)
     
  11. jwhazel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    #11
    Except for two things: hacking memory chips onto computers from nearly 30 years ago is significantly different that today. Second of all the A4 is a package on package. The ram is built into the chip. You're not going to be tapping any memory buses or adding ram to an idevice ever.
    http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Apple-A4-Teardown/2204/1
     

Share This Page