iPhone Network Problems - AT&T - Worse since 3.0?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by oban14, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. oban14 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #1
    The phone has been more sluggish in general, but the network issues are the big problem. I'm wondering if anyone in the homebrew community has developed better network management than Apple, which I'm pretty sure is the problem.

    1) I'll stand in one spot in downtown San Francisco. I will have full 3G bars. Then it will change to full Edge bars. Then it will be full bars, with no 3G or Edge. Then it will say "searching"... it will cycle through all these options. I'm not talking about walking around, I'm not talking about in a building, I mean outdoors.

    2) I'll try to load a web page showing full 3G or Edge bars, and it will hang.

    3) It will say "searching" for network for a really long time... like it tries once a minute, and if it doesn't get a ping back, it will wait a minute or 30 seconds. If I turn on Airplane mode, wait 3 seconds, and turn it off, it will quickly look and find a network until it loses it again.

    4) Sometimes holding the power button and main button to a point where it says it's going to reset (but stopping before it does by hitting cancel) will have the same effect.

    Long story short, the iphone or AT&T is horrible at grabbing and maintaining a network connection. It often reports a positive network connection that isn't there, and reports that it is searching or claim "no connection" when I know one is there, and going into airplane mode and back tends to fix it.

    My guess is Apple set it this way to preserve battery life - it's probably going to use less battery to look for a network every 30 seconds as opposed to every 5 seconds. But I want to fix it.

    Does anyone else have similar issues or experiences?
     
  2. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    Your first point says it all.

    San Francisco. The hills, the number of tech companies and tech bourgeois...it's tough. You've got so many people using that network that is trouble because of at&t's ineptitude to build up for the iPhone and the general layout of the land.

    I've got great at&t service in Chicago.
     
  3. oban14 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #3
    It isn't the Hills, it's clearly the phone or possibly network overload.
     
  4. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    Network overload is your best bet. Look at the area. It was probably at the breaking point without the iPhone.
     
  5. honavery macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #5
    I'm in Columbus, OH and have noticed significantly slower "3G" speeds on my iPhone 3G since 3.0 was rolled out.

    Using the Speed Test application I'm getting 3G speeds of anywhere from 18 kbps - 206 kbps, where before I was getting 700-1367 kbps. I mean 18 kbps is basically un-usable. This is all on 3G, not EDGE.

    I don't know if it is all the new iPhones on the network since the 3GS release or what, but I don't know why I'm paying $30 a month for slower than dial up data service.
     
  6. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #6
    However, see this latest article that states SF should now be better:

    http://www.networkworld.com/news/2009/082009-att-service-may-actually-be.html
     

Share This Page