iPhone Non-ATT Sim

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by squirrelbrand, May 29, 2008.

  1. squirrelbrand macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #1
    Howdy.

    Going overseas to Israel, where iPhone is not supported by the ATT global data plan. Just out of curiosity...if I purchased a prepaid SIM card while overseas...and assuming my iPhone is unlocked...will I be able to use email and other data tools? I do not believe so, but maybe one of you knows something better!

    Also, assuming I will have an iPhone 3G before I leave in July...will it be easier or just faster?

    As you can tell, I want to 1) avoid the crazy roaming fees we all know about, and 2) not have to rely solely on WIFI since I will need my email all day every day.

    Any tips/thoughts/suggestions? Otherwise, I will just sign up for a new ATT phone number and use my old crackberry with its global data plan since I have done this previously.

    Many thanks.
     
  2. iFerd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #2
    Your sig surprises me. Aren't all the aluminum iMacs Intel based?
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  4. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #4
    Could it possibly be the long-awaited powerbook G5 in a desktop disguise?
     
  5. squirrelbrand thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #5
    wow,you all are super cool and really know your stuff. Now, how about a little more help with the question and less useless trivia about macs.
     
  6. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #6
    If you unlock the iPhone, a prepaid SIM should work (although you may have to use iLiberty+ or something to "activate" it again when you first put the SIM in, I'm not sure). I honestly don't know about data though...I think that will depend on if you can buy a prepaid SIM that includes some sort of data provision on it.

    Can you explain the "iMac G5 Aluminum" now?
     
  7. princealfie macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #7
    I think the peeps want a correction in your signature...

    It would be an aluminum iMac Core Duo or Core Duo 2 with Intel chips... the G5 ones were all plastic based.
     
  8. t0mat0 macrumors 603

    t0mat0

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Home
    #8
    Speaking of signatures, you might want to condense yours down so it takes up 2 lines rather than the current 4-5 as per guidelines on sigs... :)
     
  9. squirrelbrand thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #9
    Thank you.

    Sig will be corrected. I casually thought all iMacs that were white and aluminum were G5s...but I see I was wrong. I do appreciate the kind way you explained it at the end. To the rest of you...suck it!
     

Share This Page