IPHONE not recognized by computer

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by leons, Oct 1, 2009.

  1. leons macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #1
    I have a jailbroken 3G running 3.0 that was previously (a long time ago) synced to my computer. I also, in the past, have connected/synced several other Iphones to the same computer.

    For some reason, when I connect my current phone, it doesn't recognize it as having been connected/synced before (even though it was). Itunes gives me two choices: Set up as new phone, or restore from other phone choices. My question is this:

    I just want to backup what is on this phone. I do not want to restore fom another save, or erase anything on my current phone. Just back it up. So, how should I proceed. Will "Set up as new phone" erase everything, or will it do what I want?
     
  2. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #2
    I'm not sure why iTunes is asking you to restore or set up the phone as new, doing either would delete everything on your phone and undo the jailbreak.

    Even if iTunes doesn't recognize a phone as having been synced to the computer before, it should just pop up in the side bar, and you should be able to right-click on it and choose "backup" from the pop-up menu.

    Also, make sure that you set iTunes to NOT automatically sync ipods/iphones. Go to Preferences, click on "Device" tab, and check "Prevent syncing automatically."
     
  3. leons thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #3
    If I right-click on it, the only option os "eject". Any other ideas?
     
  4. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #4
    Ummm, that's so weird! Does the iPhone work properly when not connected to the computer? What is on the iPhone that you want to backup? Did you try connecting it to another computer? Try other USB ports?
     
  5. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #5
    Is that the computer that you originally set the phone up with?
     
  6. leons thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #6
    Yes, the phone is otherwise working great! It is the original computer. That being said, I am surprised there is not a way to "force" a sync.
     

Share This Page