iPhone now functions as TV remove - new i.TV 2.0 Just Released

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iphones4evry1, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. iphones4evry1 macrumors 65816

    iphones4evry1

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Location:
    California, USA
    #1
    New i.TV 2.0 Just Released (download directly on phone, for some reason the computer iTunes isn't showing the update yet).
    Your iPhone functions as a TV remote for TiVo and it says "more remotes coming."

    Push notification alerts now remind you of TV shows.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. None Such macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    #2
    Where exactly is the remote? I downloaded this the other day and didn't see it. Of course I didn't look too long. Happen to have a screen shot? Thanks.
     
  3. romanbobo2012 macrumors newbie

    romanbobo2012

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Location:
    London, England
  4. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #4
    It's under More. Then you select Remotes. However, it's only for TiVo.


    OP, edit your title to change Remove to Remote.
     
  5. iHateMacs macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #5
    How does it work? Most remote apps like this rely on the IRDA function of the handheld device to send IR signals.

    The iPhone does not have this obviously.
     
  6. dalejrsfan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #6
    Its not actually a remote. Its all done online. You pick what you want it to record and it will send the request to your tivo box to tell it to record. It only works with Tivo right now, others to follow soon!
     
  7. fluffer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #7
    So exactly like the TV Plus app I've been using to remote record from my Sky+ HD Box since I've had my 3G S then?
     
  8. Bobioden macrumors 68000

    Bobioden

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
    #8
    You have been able to do this with DirectTV for quite some time now. Nothing new here.
     
  9. sdm1985 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #9
    Hey,

    Looks good. Is there an App where I can watch live TV?

    Shawn
     
  10. answerman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #10
    You're wrong. The ability to send a remote programming request has been in the app for a long time - not new with 2.0.

    You can in fact use the app as a remote to control the TiVo just as you'd use an IR remote - play, pause, select, etc. It has all of the same functionality. It works via the network remote API interface, which must be enabled in the TiVo.

    Very slick.
     
  11. Carlos E macrumors 6502

    Carlos E

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    If you have a Tivo you can go into settings and enable network remote control. It allows other devices to connect to the Tivo via IP and control the Tivo.
     
  12. Carlos E macrumors 6502

    Carlos E

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    The only functions I saw last night when I took a quick look was channel changing. There is a green icon of a remote next to the left of the channel listings. I couldn't find where the rest of the Tivo functions were in i.TV 2.0. (Play, pause, Tivo button.) Where is it?
     
  13. FamiliaPhoto macrumors 6502a

    FamiliaPhoto

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #13
    As far as recording on Tivo I'm not sure how this is different from the DirecTv app that does this just fine.
     
  14. HighLife420 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #14
    i thought this was a IR remote for a TV...now that would be kewl, but i dont know if the iphone has IR or not...

    however, i have something similar to control my Squeezebox, its called iPeng. Same thing pretty much, controls it through Wifi, no ir needed.
     
  15. answerman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #15
    This is what the remote function of i.TV looks like:
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Carlos E macrumors 6502

    Carlos E

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    Do you have a Tivo HD or a Tivo S3? I have a Tivo S3 and it looks like it doesn't work with the S3.
     

Share This Page