Iphone - o2 edge :S

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by thesheephair, Dec 10, 2007.

  1. thesheephair macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    #1
    Got myself an iphone at last !

    However, i unlocked it successfully after buying from apple shop uk, downgrade to 1.1.1 then up to 1.1.2 .

    Now i slipped in a brand new o2 payg sim card to see if it works, when i go to networks i cant see the word edge to set it up, all i see is VPN or WI FI. Is this normal ????

    ive ordered my o2 contract and should be coming soon it comes with data bundle with it , when i pop in my contract sim will edge appear in networks then???

    Very confusing post i apologise, basically why isnt my edge settings availble in network?
     
  2. 00hkelly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #2
    i dont think the UK iphones have Edge settings available in network. not sure if this is a UK or a 1.1.2 thing.

    edit: i think the way to get the settings is to go to sim applications>get settings
    (at least this is the only way that i cans see to get edge settings for the uk from o2)
     
  3. thesheephair thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    #3
    Either im being incredibily stupid or am very tired but whats sim applications>get settings
     
  4. 00hkelly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #4
    cant find it exactly now because im out of battery and cba to get the cables. but its in settings i think under sim or general or something, and then you can select applications, or just choose 'get settings', sorry for the vagueness, ill try to post a bit later with the exact path
     
  5. 00hkelly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #5
    settings>phone>sim applications>get settings

    if this fails i suggest phoning o2

    make sure data roaming is on too - mine came with the default as off
     
  6. CD3660 macrumors 68040

    CD3660

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom.
    #6
    EDGE is not available on O2 PAYG. It should work when you use the contract sim that you are expecting.
     
  7. sananda macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #7
    there is no place in settings to enter the GPRS/EDGE settings. you have to change the files in the phone: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=383315.

    as cd3660 says, even though o2 say its available, you won't actually get EDGE speeds on pay and go ... only GPRS speeds.
     
  8. thesheephair thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    #8
    interesting however the reality of my question is ,

    1. is this due to the sim card ive put in , if so if i put in contract the settings will come up.
    2. is this due to my phone therefore need to alter iphone files.

    Im guessing its just coz i put a payg sim card in that isn't topped up.
     
  9. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #9
    Its due to the 1.1.2 firmware which hides EDGE settings from the phone. Regardless of sim or tariff you will not see EDGE settings in 1.1.2
     

Share This Page