Iphone on a cruise/islands?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by stylez4o1, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. stylez4o1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    #1
    I'm sure someone here has been on a cruise with their iphone. Did you just add the international data plan? The cheapest 1 is $25 for 20 mb, which seems fine for me I think. I heard the ships wifi is expensive. I'm only on the ship/island for about 3-4 days. I'm just wondering how everyone else did it. Any tips or suggestions? Thanks!
     
  2. bowlerman625 macrumors 68020

    bowlerman625

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL area
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    I used the ship's wifi but it is pretty pricey!
     
  3. jacollins macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #3
    Something to remember on the cruise ships. Internet is usually over satellite, so there's a latency. I pretty much use it for critical things, but for the most part, I just didn't use the phone for phone stuff on cruises.
     
  4. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #4
    Just put your phone on airplane mode and enjoy your cruise. You can live without your phone for a few days. That's what I did on my recent 7 days cruise, Texas > Jamaica > Caymen > Mexico > Texas.
     
  5. edk99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    FL
    #5
    Exactly. I go on vacation to disconnect from the world. I give family members the info on the cruise or where I will be staying and if 100% necessary and the only thing I can think of would be a death in the family they can call the cruise line to get a hold of me or hotel where I'm staying.

    At most I will put my phone in airplane mode and turn wifi on if I happen to have access to free wifi to check email or post a photo on facebook of the trip.
     

Share This Page