Iphone on Public beta suddenly running hot, touch id not working

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by gorkt, Jul 20, 2016.

  1. gorkt macrumors 6502

    gorkt

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #1
    This started happening sometime last night, and I am wondering if it is a hardware or software issue. I've had the beta for about a week and half and it ran great with the only real issues being pausing on the podcast app and the AR not working on Pokemon go - typical stuff. I did have a few issues at the beginning of the week updating some apps.

    Starting sometime last night, touch ID just stopped working. I have tried resetting the phone, resetting the settings with no luck. When I go to the Touch ID section in settings and try to add another fingerprint, nothing happens.

    I also noticed that this morning my phone has been running extremely hot with battery drain. Any ideas?
     
  2. WiiDsmKR69 macrumors regular

    WiiDsmKR69

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #2
    I also cannot use Touch ID on beta 5.
    It stopped working as soon as I upgraded from beta4 5 to beta5.

    It presents the same issues as if it was a hardware issue, but it was the software that broke it.

    Grr
    --- Post Merged, Aug 10, 2016 ---
    IMG_6322.PNG IMG_6323.PNG
     
  3. flyinmac macrumors 68030

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    Sounds like you accidentally triggered the self destruct routine Apple put in the new iOS to prevent future hacking requests by the FBI. :D
     
  4. WiiDsmKR69 macrumors regular

    WiiDsmKR69

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #4
    Ha ha, could be!
    I miss Touch ID already.

    A 4 digit pin code is just so manual..
     
  5. Elwots macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    #5
    I want to try iOS 10 so badly, but these kind of posts take me out of my comfort zone.
     
  6. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #6
    There are posts of this nature or something similar for practically any version, including actual public ones.
     
  7. mariusignorello macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #7
    Hmmm I think it may not be communicating with the Secure Enclave for some reason. Probably software issue.
     
  8. WiiDsmKR69 macrumors regular

    WiiDsmKR69

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #8
    Here's hoping!
     

Share This Page