iPhone Overseas as a WiFi Device?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by droddy, Jul 6, 2007.

  1. droddy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #1
    Im planning on going to the UK later this month. Is it possible to disable the network so i could simpily use the phone as a wifi device?
     
  2. droddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
  3. oogje macrumors regular

    oogje

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    nyc
    #4
    Yes. Or simply don't call AT&T to activate international roaming.
     
  4. rainmanbk macrumors 6502

    rainmanbk

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Southington, CT
    #5
    You don't need to remove the sim card. What will happen is you won't be able to use EDGE and you'll only be able to update things through Wi-Fi. If you try and make a call, it will use any of the available networks it can find, but you can also go into the settings, and tell it to use a carrier of your choice, or change it from automatic, to manual. I am currently in Ireland and have been using the Wi-Fi whenever I find a hotspot. Works fine. Everything works but the phone functions obviously. But like the previous poster said, you can make calls, but it will be super expensive and probably not worth it unless it's an emergency.
     
  5. haiz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #6
    I could not get the iphone wifi to work in Singapore. The network has been disabled because it was on prepaid plan and it did not allow roaming. While my wifi is hooked up - it did not allow any of the applications to open as it searches for edge network as the first step and since the network is not on - it did not work. For now - it is a dummy ipod. I could access my contacts, calendar, notes, calculator and clock and photos. That's all. All other applications do not work.

    however I understand from some others - it worked for those who has the network enabled.
     

Share This Page