iPhone paid apps transfer to another unit?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by hellfire88, Jul 8, 2009.

1. hellfire88 macrumors 6502

Hey Guys, sorry if this is in the wrong section.

I have an iPhone 3G that I barely used since I can't type on the portrait keyboard very well and thus used my Blackberry 99% of the time (for Exchange emails). Now that OS 3.0 is out and the Mail app supports landscape keyboard I find myself use the iPhone 3G more and more and enjoying it. I used to only download free apps from the App store but now that I use the iPhone more and more am looking into purchasing some paid apps.

My question is this (sorry for the noobness), I'm thinking about buying an iPhone 3GS and once I do, can I somehow transfer my paid iPhone apps from my 3G to the 3GS? Like are the paid apps "tied" to my iTunes account? Or do I have to pay for them all over again on the new 3GS? Sorry for the noob question I'm pretty new to the iTunes and iPhone stuff. Thanks in advance.

2. Unspoken Demise macrumors 68040

Unspoken Demise

They are tied to your account. :) If you synced your iPhone 3G before switching phones, all your apps will be in your iTunes. If for whatever reason you buy an app on your phone, don't sync it to iTunes, then switch to the 3Gs, you can just redownload it for free. After clicking buy and putting in your password you will get a pop up saying you have bought it before and will get this update for free. :)

3. richardhunt macrumors regular